Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 74 out of 100. Prevention trials

Topic: Amyloid, tau and blood-test diagnosis

Background Repetitive transcranial magnetic stimulation (rTMS) is a noninvasive brain stimulation technique for Alzheimer's disease (AD). rTMS, with high- or low-frequency, is thought to enhance or inhibit the cortical activities, respectively. This meta-analysis of randomized controlled trials (RCTs) was to summarize the efficacy of the rTMS on the cognition of AD patients and to identify its potential influential factors. Methods Literature from the Pubmed, Embase, Cochrane Library and Web of Science were searched and screened to identify eligible studies. Standardized mean difference (SMD) and 95% confidence interval were used to evaluate the therapeutic effects of rTMS. Subgroup analyses were performed to investigate the influential factors. Results Ten studies with 15 trials involving 240 patients were included. Compared with sham stimulation, rTMS could significantly improve cognition in AD (SMD, 0.42; 95% CI 0.18-0.67; P = 0.0006). Subgroup analysis suggested significant cognitive enhancement in participants receiving rTMS on multiple sites rather than on single site, and in patients receiving rTMS of more than 10 sessions, but not ≤ 10 sessions. Compared with rTMS as the single therapeutic method, rTMS with concurrent cognitive training seemed to produce greater improvement. Moreover, 20 Hz rTMS, seemed to be more effective than 10 Hz or 1 Hz rTMS. Furthermore, patients with higher education, or with mild-to-moderate AD were more likely to benefit from rTMS than patients with lower education, or with severe dementia, respectively. Conclusions Based on the current evidence, rTMS was an effective therapy for cognitive impairment in AD. Large RCTs are warranted to further validate the results of our subgroup analyses.

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

APA 7th

Wang, X., Mao, Z., Ling, Z., & Yu, X. (2020). Repetitive transcranial magnetic stimulation for cognitive impairment in Alzheimer's disease: a meta-analysis of randomized controlled trials. Journal of neurology. https://doi.org/10.1007/s00415-019-09644-y

Vancouver

Wang X, Mao Z, Ling Z, Yu X. Repetitive transcranial magnetic stimulation for cognitive impairment in Alzheimer's disease: a meta-analysis of randomized controlled trials. Journal of neurology. 2020. doi:10.1007/s00415-019-09644-y. PMID: 31760522.

BibTeX

@article{wang2020-31760522,
  author  = {Wang, X. and Mao, Z. and Ling, Z. and Yu, X.},
  title   = {{Repetitive transcranial magnetic stimulation for cognitive impairment in Alzheimer's disease: a meta-analysis of randomized controlled trials}},
  journal = {Journal of neurology},
  year    = {2020},
  doi     = {10.1007/s00415-019-09644-y},
  pmid    = {31760522},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.1007/s00415-019-09644-y}
}

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

Key findings

Study details

How this study scored 74/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 7 of 10; Journal's citation record left out, no data; Study design 12 of 12; Strength of evidence 5 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 2 of 5; Sample size 2 of 4; Effect reported 0 of 3; Studied in people 3 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited left out, no data; Citations per year left out, no data; Impact for its field and year left out, no data; Cited by studies here left out, no data; Still being cited left out, no data; Senior author's track record left out, no data; Institution's track record left out, no data; Multi-centre collaboration left out, no data; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read 0 of 2. 43 of the 58 points it could be judged on, which is 74 of 100. Total 74 of 100.43 of the 58 points we could judge = 74 of 100

Published in a peer-reviewed journal, and it is a meta-analysis pooling many studies. Scored zero for effect reported because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record and multi-centre collaboration, so those were left out: it earned 43 of the 58 points we could judge it on, which is 74 out of 100.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 7 / 10 Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Journal of neurology)
Journal's citation record — / 4 No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score
Study design 12 / 12 A meta-analysis pooling many studies
Strength of evidence 5 / 5 Rated “high” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 2 / 5 2020 — within 10 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 2 / 4 240 participants
Effect reported 0 / 3 No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Studied in people 3 / 3 Studied in people (participant count stated)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 A review of other studies — randomisation is not credited here
Times cited — / 7 No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score
Citations per year — / 5 No citation count or no year — left out of this score
Impact for its field and year — / 6 No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score
Cited by studies here — / 6 Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score
Still being cited — / 4 No yearly citation counts — left out of this score
Senior author's track record — / 4 Senior author's record not available — left out of this score
Institution's track record — / 3 No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score
Multi-centre collaboration — / 3 Institutions not listed — left out of this score
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 31760522)
Free to read 0 / 2 Behind a paywall — scores zero
Points 43 / 58 Scored on 11 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 43 of the 58 points we could judge it on is 74 out of 100.
Total 74 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.

Related studies in Prevention trials

Also tagged “double-blind”

783 studies in the library carry the topic tag “double-blind”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 783 tagged studies.

Similar studies

More on Prevention trials

See all studies in Prevention trials →