Home › Research › Cognitive tests and assessment
Prodromal cognitive disorder in Alzheimer's disease
Touchon J, Ritchie K.. International journal of geriatric psychiatry, 1999-07-01
Topic: Amyloid, tau and blood-test diagnosis
Introduction To trace the prodromal evolution of Alzheimer's disease using a comprehensive computerized cognitive battery and an evaluation of performance of everyday activities. Materials and methods A general population cohort of 397 normal elderly persons hypothesized to have an increased risk of developing Alzheimer's disease was examined over a 3-year period. Twenty-two subjects developed AD in the third year and their performance was compared retrospectively with 150 subjects who had remained free of senile dementia and other psychiatric disorders throughout the period of the study. Results Adjusting for effects of age, education and incident illness, significant differences were found between the two groups on a wide range of tests 2 years before diagnosis. For half of these tests the decline was largely limited to persons with low levels of education. Education effects closer to the time of diagnosis were limited to a small number of verbal tasks. Conclusion Patterns of cognitive impairment may be detected in cases of AD 2 years before formal clinical diagnosis, although high education level prolongs competence, principally on verbal tasks. The results suggest that a number of brief cognitive tests may have face validity and high discriminability independent of education level in the evaluation of cognitive complaints in early stage AD in the general practice setting.
Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris
APA 7th
Touchon, J., & Ritchie, K. (1999). Prodromal cognitive disorder in Alzheimer's disease. International journal of geriatric psychiatry. https://doi.org/10.1002/(sici)1099-1166(199907)14:7<556::aid-gps982>3.0.co;2-4
Vancouver
Touchon J, Ritchie K. Prodromal cognitive disorder in Alzheimer's disease. International journal of geriatric psychiatry. 1999. doi:10.1002/(sici)1099-1166(199907)14:7<556::aid-gps982>3.0.co;2-4. PMID: 10440976.
BibTeX
@article{touchon1999-10440976,
author = {Touchon, J. and Ritchie, K.},
title = {{Prodromal cognitive disorder in Alzheimer's disease}},
journal = {International journal of geriatric psychiatry},
year = {1999},
doi = {10.1002/(sici)1099-1166(199907)14:7<556::aid-gps982>3.0.co;2-4},
pmid = {10440976},
url = {https://doi.org/10.1002/(sici)1099-1166(199907)14:7<556::aid-gps982>3.0.co;2-4}
}
Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. Check the citation against the original before you use it.
Key findings
- Materials and methods A general population cohort of 397 normal elderly persons hypothesized to have an increased risk of developing Alzheimer's disease was examined over a 3-year period.
- Results Adjusting for effects of age, education and incident illness, significant differences were found between the two groups on a wide range of tests 2 years before diagnosis.
- The results suggest that a number of brief cognitive tests may have face validity and high discriminability independent of education level in the evaluation of cognitive complaints in early stage AD in the general practice setting.
Study details
- Participants150
- Evidence strengthModerate
How this study scored 48/100
Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design, effect reported and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record and multi-centre collaboration, so those were left out: it earned 28 of the 58 points we could judge it on, which is 48 out of 100.
| Component | Points | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Journal tier | 7 / 10 | Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (International journal of geriatric psychiatry) |
| Journal's citation record | — / 4 | No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Study design | 0 / 12 | No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Strength of evidence | 3 / 5 | Rated “moderate” in our summary |
| Peer-review validation | 10 / 10 | Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal. |
| How recent | 1 / 5 | 1999 — older than 20 years, still counted |
| Sample size | 2 / 4 | 150 participants |
| Effect reported | 0 / 3 | No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Studied in people | 3 / 3 | Studied in people (participant count stated) |
| Randomised / blinded | 0 / 2 | No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Times cited | — / 7 | No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score |
| Citations per year | — / 5 | No citation count or no year — left out of this score |
| Impact for its field and year | — / 6 | No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score |
| Cited by studies here | — / 6 | Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score |
| Still being cited | — / 4 | No yearly citation counts — left out of this score |
| Senior author's track record | — / 4 | Senior author's record not available — left out of this score |
| Institution's track record | — / 3 | No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Multi-centre collaboration | — / 3 | Institutions not listed — left out of this score |
| Indexed in PubMed | 2 / 2 | Indexed in PubMed (PMID 10440976) |
| Free to read | 0 / 2 | Behind a paywall — scores zero |
| Points | 28 / 58 | Scored on 11 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 28 of the 58 points we could judge it on is 48 out of 100. |
| Total | 48 / 100 | — |
What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →
Read the original
- DOI: 10.1002/(sici)1099-1166(199907)14:7<556::aid-gps982>3.0.co;2-4
- PubMed: 10440976
- Original source →
Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.
Related studies in Cognitive tests and assessment
Also in Cognitive tests and assessment
98 studies in the library are filed under Cognitive tests and assessment with no topic tag they share with another; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed tour of them. The Cognitive tests and assessment hub.