Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 57 out of 100. Clinical safety

Topic: Brain proteins, microglia and lab models

While delirium is associated with cognitive decline and dementia, there is limited evidence to support causality for this relationship. We tested whether delirium is associated with neuronal injury in 114 surgical patients recruited to a prospective biomarker cohort study. Initially we confirmed prior reports that neurofilament light levels correlated with markers of neurodegeneration [hippocampal volume (ΔR2 = 0.129, P = 0.015)] and white matter changes including fractional anisotropy of white matter (ΔR2 = 0.417, P < 0.001) with similar effects on mean, axial and radial diffusivity) in our cohort and that surgery was associated with increasing neurofilament light from preoperative levels [mean difference (95% confidence interval, CI) = 0.240 (0.178, 0.301) log10 (pg/ml), P < 0.001], suggesting putative neuronal injury. Neurofilament light rose more sharply in participants with delirium compared to non-sufferers [mean difference (95% CI) = 0.251 (0.136, 0.367) log10 (pg/ml), P < 0.001]. Neurofilament light was independently associated with delirium severity after adjusting for the change in inflammation (ΔR2 = 0.040, P = 0.038). These data suggest delirium is associated with exaggerated increases in neurofilament light and that this putative neurotoxicity may contribute to the pathogenesis of delirium itself, independent of changes in inflammation.

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

APA 7th

Casey, C. P., Lindroth, H., Mohanty, R., Farahbakhsh, Z., Ballweg, T., Twadell, S., et al. (2020). Postoperative delirium is associated with increased plasma neurofilament light. Brain : a journal of neurology. https://doi.org/10.1093/brain/awz354

Vancouver

Casey CP, Lindroth H, Mohanty R, Farahbakhsh Z, Ballweg T, Twadell S, et al. Postoperative delirium is associated with increased plasma neurofilament light. Brain : a journal of neurology. 2020. doi:10.1093/brain/awz354. PMID: 31802104.

BibTeX

@article{casey2020-31802104,
  author  = {Casey, C. P. and Lindroth, H. and Mohanty, R. and Farahbakhsh, Z. and Ballweg, T. and Twadell, S. and Miller, S. and Krause, B. and others},
  title   = {{Postoperative delirium is associated with increased plasma neurofilament light}},
  journal = {Brain : a journal of neurology},
  year    = {2020},
  doi     = {10.1093/brain/awz354},
  pmid    = {31802104},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.1093/brain/awz354}
}

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

Key findings

Study details

How this study scored 57/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 9 of 10; Journal's citation record left out, no data; Study design 7 of 12; Strength of evidence 3 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 2 of 5; Sample size 0 of 4; Effect reported 0 of 3; Studied in people 0 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited left out, no data; Citations per year left out, no data; Impact for its field and year left out, no data; Cited by studies here left out, no data; Still being cited left out, no data; Senior author's track record left out, no data; Institution's track record left out, no data; Multi-centre collaboration left out, no data; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read 0 of 2. 33 of the 58 points it could be judged on, which is 57 of 100. Total 57 of 100.33 of the 58 points we could judge = 57 of 100

Published in a leading specialty journal, and it is a cohort study following people over time. Scored zero for sample size, effect reported, studied in people and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record and multi-centre collaboration, so those were left out: it earned 33 of the 58 points we could judge it on, which is 57 out of 100.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 9 / 10 Tier 2 — leading specialty journal (Brain : a journal of neurology)
Journal's citation record — / 4 No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score
Study design 7 / 12 A cohort study following people over time
Strength of evidence 3 / 5 Rated “moderate” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 2 / 5 2020 — within 10 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 0 / 4 Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Effect reported 0 / 3 No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Studied in people 0 / 3 Not stated whether this was studied in people — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited — / 7 No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score
Citations per year — / 5 No citation count or no year — left out of this score
Impact for its field and year — / 6 No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score
Cited by studies here — / 6 Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score
Still being cited — / 4 No yearly citation counts — left out of this score
Senior author's track record — / 4 Senior author's record not available — left out of this score
Institution's track record — / 3 No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score
Multi-centre collaboration — / 3 Institutions not listed — left out of this score
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 31802104)
Free to read 0 / 2 Behind a paywall — scores zero
Points 33 / 58 Scored on 11 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 33 of the 58 points we could judge it on is 57 out of 100.
Total 57 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.

Related studies in Clinical safety

Also tagged “vessel”

900 studies in the library carry the topic tag “vessel”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 900 tagged studies.

Similar studies

More on Clinical safety

See all studies in Clinical safety →