Home › Research › Brain scans and imaging
Neuroinflammation and protein aggregation co-localize across the frontotemporal dementia spectrum
Bevan-Jones WR, Cope TE, Jones PS, Kaalund SS, Passamonti L, Allinson K, Green O, Hong YT et al.. Brain : a journal of neurology, 2020-03-01
Topic: Plasma and spinal-fluid biomarkers
We found significant group-wise differences in 11C-PK-11195 binding between each patient group and controls in frontotemporal regions, in both a regions-of-interest analysis and in the comparison of principal spatial components of binding. 18F-AV-1451 binding was increased in semantic variant primary progressive aphasia compared to controls in the temporal regions, and both semantic variant primary progressive aphasia and behavioural variant frontotemporal dementia differed from controls in the expression of principal spatial components of binding, across temporal and frontotemporal cortex, respectively. The multivariate distribution of 11C-PK-11195 binding related better to clinical heterogeneity than did 18F-AV-1451: distinct spatial modes of neuroinflammation were associated with different frontotemporal dementia syndromes and supported accurate classification of participants.
Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris
APA 7th
Bevan-Jones, W. R., Cope, T. E., Jones, P. S., Kaalund, S. S., Passamonti, L., Allinson, K., et al. (2020). Neuroinflammation and protein aggregation co-localize across the frontotemporal dementia spectrum. Brain : a journal of neurology. https://doi.org/10.1093/brain/awaa033
Vancouver
Bevan-Jones WR, Cope TE, Jones PS, Kaalund SS, Passamonti L, Allinson K, et al. Neuroinflammation and protein aggregation co-localize across the frontotemporal dementia spectrum. Brain : a journal of neurology. 2020. doi:10.1093/brain/awaa033. PMID: 32179883.
BibTeX
@article{bevanjones2020-32179883,
author = {Bevan-Jones, W. R. and Cope, T. E. and Jones, P. S. and Kaalund, S. S. and Passamonti, L. and Allinson, K. and Green, O. and Hong, Y. T. and others},
title = {{Neuroinflammation and protein aggregation co-localize across the frontotemporal dementia spectrum}},
journal = {Brain : a journal of neurology},
year = {2020},
doi = {10.1093/brain/awaa033},
pmid = {32179883},
url = {https://doi.org/10.1093/brain/awaa033}
}
Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.
Key findings
- We found significant group-wise differences in 11C-PK-11195 binding between each patient group and controls in frontotemporal regions, in both a regions-of-interest analysis and in the comparison of principal spatial components of binding. 18F-AV-1451 binding was increased in semantic variant primary progressive aphasia compared to controls in the temporal regions, and both semantic variant primary progressive aphasia and behavioural variant frontotemporal dementia differed from controls in the expression of principal spatial components of binding, across temporal and frontotemporal cortex, respectively.
- The multivariate distribution of 11C-PK-11195 binding related better to clinical heterogeneity than did 18F-AV-1451: distinct spatial modes of neuroinflammation were associated with different frontotemporal dementia syndromes and supported accurate classification of participants.
New to this subject? Start with our plain-English guide: Brain scans & tests →
Study details
- Participants31
- Evidence strengthLow
How this study scored 52/100
Published in a leading specialty journal. Scored zero for study design, effect reported and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record and multi-centre collaboration, so those were left out: it earned 30 of the 58 points we could judge it on, which is 52 out of 100.
| Component | Points | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Journal tier | 9 / 10 | Tier 2 — leading specialty journal (Brain : a journal of neurology) |
| Journal's citation record | — / 4 | No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Study design | 0 / 12 | No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Strength of evidence | 1 / 5 | Rated “low” in our summary |
| Peer-review validation | 10 / 10 | Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal. |
| How recent | 2 / 5 | 2020 — within 10 year(s) of the newest study here |
| Sample size | 1 / 4 | 31 participants |
| Effect reported | 0 / 3 | No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Studied in people | 3 / 3 | Studied in people (participant count stated) |
| Randomised / blinded | 0 / 2 | No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Times cited | — / 7 | No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score |
| Citations per year | — / 5 | No citation count or no year — left out of this score |
| Impact for its field and year | — / 6 | No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score |
| Cited by studies here | — / 6 | Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score |
| Still being cited | — / 4 | No yearly citation counts — left out of this score |
| Senior author's track record | — / 4 | Senior author's record not available — left out of this score |
| Institution's track record | — / 3 | No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Multi-centre collaboration | — / 3 | Institutions not listed — left out of this score |
| Indexed in PubMed | 2 / 2 | Indexed in PubMed (PMID 32179883) |
| Free to read | 2 / 2 | Free to read |
| Points | 30 / 58 | Scored on 11 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 30 of the 58 points we could judge it on is 52 out of 100. |
| Total | 52 / 100 | — |
What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →
Read the original
Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.
Related studies in Brain scans and imaging
Also in Brain scans and imaging
114 studies in the library are filed under Brain scans and imaging with no topic tag they share with another; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed tour of them. The Brain scans and imaging hub.