Home › Research › Brain tissue and pathology
Multiple Neurodegenerative Pathologies in an Alzheimer's Disease Patient Treated with Fornical Deep Brain Stimulation
Bartholomew White, Constantine G Lyketsos, Paul B Rosenberg, Esther S Oh, Liam Chen. Journal of Alzheimer's disease : JAD, 2021
Topic: Disease mechanisms in lab and animal studies
As an established treatment for movement disorders, deep brain stimulation (DBS) has been adapted for the treatment of Alzheimer's disease (AD) by modulating fornix activity. Although it is generally regarded as a safe intervention in patients over 65 years of age, the complex neurophysiology and interconnection within circuits connected to the fornix warrants a careful ongoing evaluation of the true benefit and risk potential of DBS on slowing cognitive decline in AD patients. Here we report on a patient who died long after being implanted with a DBS device who donated her brain for neuropathologic study. The autopsy confirmed multiple proteinopathies including AD-related change, diffuse neocortical Lewy body disease, TDP-43 proteinopathy, and a nonspecific tauopathy. We discuss the possible mechanisms of these overlapping neurodegenerative disorders and caution that future studies of DBS for AD will need to take these findings into consideration.
Key findings
- We discuss the possible mechanisms of these overlapping neurodegenerative disorders and caution that future studies of DBS for AD will need to take these findings into consideration.
Study details
- Evidence strengthLow
How this study scored 46/100
Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design, sample size, effect reported and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record, multi-centre collaboration and free to read, so those were left out: it earned 26 of the 56 points we could judge it on, which is 46 out of 100.
| Component | Points | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Journal tier | 7 / 10 | Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Journal of Alzheimer's disease : JAD) |
| Journal's citation record | — / 4 | No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Study design | 0 / 12 | No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Strength of evidence | 1 / 5 | Rated “low” in our summary |
| Peer-review validation | 10 / 10 | Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal. |
| How recent | 3 / 5 | 2021 — within 6 year(s) of the newest study here |
| Sample size | 0 / 4 | Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Effect reported | 0 / 3 | No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Studied in people | 3 / 3 | Studied in people (pubmed indexes it as a clinical or observational study) |
| Randomised / blinded | 0 / 2 | No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Times cited | — / 7 | No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score |
| Citations per year | — / 5 | No citation count or no year — left out of this score |
| Impact for its field and year | — / 6 | No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score |
| Cited by studies here | — / 6 | Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score |
| Still being cited | — / 4 | No yearly citation counts — left out of this score |
| Senior author's track record | — / 4 | Senior author's record not available — left out of this score |
| Institution's track record | — / 3 | No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Multi-centre collaboration | — / 3 | Institutions not listed — left out of this score |
| Indexed in PubMed | 2 / 2 | Indexed in PubMed (PMID 33682715) |
| Free to read | — / 2 | Access not recorded — left out of this score |
| Points | 26 / 56 | Scored on 10 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 26 of the 56 points we could judge it on is 46 out of 100. |
| Total | 46 / 100 | — |
What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →
Read the original
Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.
Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris
Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. Check the citation against the original before you use it.
APA 7th
White, B., Lyketsos, C. G., Rosenberg, P. B., Oh, E. S., & Chen, L. (2021). Multiple Neurodegenerative Pathologies in an Alzheimer's Disease Patient Treated with Fornical Deep Brain Stimulation. Journal of Alzheimer's disease : JAD. https://doi.org/10.3233/jad-201415
Vancouver
White B, Lyketsos CG, Rosenberg PB, Oh ES, Chen L. Multiple Neurodegenerative Pathologies in an Alzheimer's Disease Patient Treated with Fornical Deep Brain Stimulation. Journal of Alzheimer's disease : JAD. 2021. doi:10.3233/jad-201415. PMID: 33682715.
BibTeX
@article{white2021-33682715,
author = {White, Bartholomew and Lyketsos, Constantine G and Rosenberg, Paul B and Oh, Esther S and Chen, Liam},
title = {{Multiple Neurodegenerative Pathologies in an Alzheimer's Disease Patient Treated with Fornical Deep Brain Stimulation}},
journal = {Journal of Alzheimer's disease : JAD},
year = {2021},
doi = {10.3233/jad-201415},
pmid = {33682715},
url = {https://doi.org/10.3233/jad-201415}
}
Related studies in Brain tissue and pathology
Also in Brain tissue and pathology
124 studies in the library are filed under Brain tissue and pathology with no topic tag they share with another; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed tour of them. The Brain tissue and pathology hub.