Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 43 out of 100. Risk genes beyond APOE

Topic: Amyloid, tau and blood-test diagnosis

Senile plaques composed of A beta peptides are a histopathological hallmark of Alzheimer disease (AD). A role for A beta in the etiology of AD has been argued from analysis of mutations associated with a subset of early-onset familial AD (FAD). Expression of autosomal dominant mutations in the genes for the amyloid precursor protein (APP), presenilin 1 (PS1), and presenilin 2 (PS2) in affected patients, cultured cells, or transgenic mice leads to increased production of total A beta or increased production of A beta ending at residue 42 (A beta42).

Key findings

Why it matters

This review explains that mutations in APP, PS1 and PS2 in early-onset familial Alzheimer's disease increase production of total amyloid beta or of amyloid beta ending at residue 42. It is a summary of disease mechanisms and reports no treatment, cure or prevention.

Study details

How this study scored 43/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 7 of 10; Journal's citation record 2 of 4; Study design 0 of 12; Strength of evidence 1 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 1 of 5; Sample size 0 of 4; Effect reported 0 of 3; Studied in people 0 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited 5 of 7; Citations per year 2 of 5; Impact for its field and year 4 of 6; Cited by studies here 2 of 6; Still being cited 1 of 4; Senior author's track record 4 of 4; Institution's track record 2 of 3; Multi-centre collaboration 0 of 3; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read 0 of 2. Total 43 of 100.43 of 100 points earned57 not earned

Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design, sample size, effect reported, studied in people and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 7 / 10 Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Journal of neuropathology and experimental neurology)
Journal's citation record 2 / 4 Journal of Neuropathology & Experimental Neurology: journal h-index 239 (OpenAlex, 2026-10-29)
Study design 0 / 12 No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Strength of evidence 1 / 5 Rated “low” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 1 / 5 1999 — older than 20 years, still counted
Sample size 0 / 4 Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Effect reported 0 / 3 No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Studied in people 0 / 3 Not stated whether this was studied in people — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited 5 / 7 Cited 187 times (OpenAlex, 2026-10-10)
Citations per year 2 / 5 6.4 citations a year over 29 year(s) since 1999
Impact for its field and year 4 / 6 Cited 11.1× the average for papers of its field and year (OpenAlex FWCI)
Cited by studies here 2 / 6 Cited by 9 other studies in this library
Still being cited 1 / 4 Cited 5 times in 2024–2026 (2026 still in progress; OpenAlex)
Senior author's track record 4 / 4 Last-listed author Virginia M.‐Y. Lee: h-index 202 (OpenAlex, whole career)
Institution's track record 2 / 3 University of Pennsylvania: institution h-index 1,859 (OpenAlex)
Multi-centre collaboration 0 / 3 OpenAlex lists 1 institution(s) in 1 country — scores zero (affiliation lists can be incomplete)
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 10446803)
Free to read 0 / 2 Behind a paywall — scores zero
Total 43 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

May need a subscription OpenAlex found no free copy of the full text (checked 6 Feb 1020), so the publisher may charge for it. The PubMed abstract is free.

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

APA 7th

Wilson, C. A., Doms, R. W., & Lee, V. M. (1999). Intracellular APP processing and A beta production in Alzheimer disease. Journal of neuropathology and experimental neurology. https://doi.org/10.1097/00005072-199908000-00001

Vancouver

Wilson CA, Doms RW, Lee VM. Intracellular APP processing and A beta production in Alzheimer disease. Journal of neuropathology and experimental neurology. 1999. doi:10.1097/00005072-199908000-00001. PMID: 10446803.

BibTeX

@article{wilson1999-10446803,
  author  = {Wilson, C. A. and Doms, R. W. and Lee, V. M.},
  title   = {{Intracellular APP processing and A beta production in Alzheimer disease}},
  journal = {Journal of neuropathology and experimental neurology},
  year    = {1999},
  doi     = {10.1097/00005072-199908000-00001},
  pmid    = {10446803},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.1097/00005072-199908000-00001}
}

Later studies that cite this one

9 studies in the alzhub library list this one in their references. Showing the 8 highest-scoring.

Related studies in Risk genes beyond APOE

Also in Risk genes beyond APOE

98 studies in the library are filed under Risk genes beyond APOE with no topic tag they share with another; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed tour of them. The Risk genes beyond APOE hub.

Similar studies

More on Risk genes beyond APOE

See all studies in Risk genes beyond APOE →