Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 50 out of 100. Mild cognitive impairment

Topic: Brain proteins, microglia and lab models

Cross-sectional studies suggest a limited relationship between accelerated epigenetic aging derived from epigenetic clocks, and Alzheimer's disease (AD) pathophysiology or risk. However, most prior analyses have not utilized longitudinal analyses or whole-brain neuroimaging biomarkers of AD. Herein, we employed longitudinal modeling and structural neuroimaging analyses to test the hypothesis that accelerated epigenetic aging would predict AD progression. Using survival analyses, we found that two second-generation epigenetic clocks, DNAmPhenoAge and DNAmGrimAge, predicted progression from cognitively normal aging to mild cognitive impairment or AD and worse longitudinal cognitive outcomes. Epigenetic age was also strongly associated with cortical thinning in AD-relevant regions and white matter disease burden. Thus, in contrast to earlier work suggesting limited applicability of blood-based epigenetic clocks in AD, our novel analytic framework suggests that second-generation epigenetic clocks have broad utility and may represent promising predictors of AD risk and pathophysiology.

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

APA 7th

Bonham, L. W., Sirkis, D. W., Pang, A. P., Sugrue, L. P., Santamaría‐García, H. A., Ibáñez, A. M., et al. (2025). DNA methylation age from peripheral blood predicts progression to Alzheimer’s disease, white matter disease burden, and cortical atrophy. npj Dementia. https://doi.org/10.1038/s44400-025-00007-1

Vancouver

Bonham LW, Sirkis DW, Pang AP, Sugrue LP, Santamaría‐García HA, Ibáñez AM, et al. DNA methylation age from peripheral blood predicts progression to Alzheimer’s disease, white matter disease burden, and cortical atrophy. npj Dementia. 2025. doi:10.1038/s44400-025-00007-1. PMID: 40443531.

BibTeX

@article{bonham2025-40443531,
  author  = {Bonham, Luke W. and Sirkis, Daniel W. and Pang, Alina P.S. and Sugrue, Leo P. and Santamaría‐García, Hernando A and Ibáñez, Agustín M. and Miller, Bruce Leonard and Yokoyama, Jennifer S. and others},
  title   = {{DNA methylation age from peripheral blood predicts progression to Alzheimer’s disease, white matter disease burden, and cortical atrophy}},
  journal = {npj Dementia},
  year    = {2025},
  doi     = {10.1038/s44400-025-00007-1},
  pmid    = {40443531},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.1038/s44400-025-00007-1}
}

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

Key findings

Why it matters

Two blood-based epigenetic clocks, DNAmPhenoAge and DNAmGrimAge, predicted progression from cognitively normal aging to mild cognitive impairment or Alzheimer's disease and were linked to cortical thinning and white matter disease burden. This is not a treatment or cure, but it suggests these blood measures may help predict risk and track disease-related brain changes.

Study details

How this study scored 50/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 7 of 10; Journal's citation record 0 of 4; Study design 4 of 12; Strength of evidence 3 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 4 of 5; Sample size 0 of 4; Effect reported 0 of 3; Studied in people 0 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited 3 of 7; Citations per year 2 of 5; Impact for its field and year 4 of 6; Cited by studies here 1 of 6; Still being cited 2 of 4; Senior author's track record left out, no data; Institution's track record 2 of 3; Multi-centre collaboration 2 of 3; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read 2 of 2. 48 of the 96 points it could be judged on, which is 50 of 100. Total 50 of 100.48 of the 96 points we could judge = 50 of 100

Published in a peer-reviewed journal, and it is a snapshot of people at one point in time. Scored zero for sample size, effect reported, studied in people and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on senior author's track record, so that was left out: it earned 48 of the 96 points we could judge it on, which is 50 out of 100.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 7 / 10 Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (npj Dementia)
Journal's citation record 0 / 4 Npj Dementia: journal h-index 10 (OpenAlex, 2026-10-29)
Study design 4 / 12 A snapshot of people at one point in time
Strength of evidence 3 / 5 Rated “moderate” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 4 / 5 2025 — within 3 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 0 / 4 Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Effect reported 0 / 3 No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Studied in people 0 / 3 Not stated whether this was studied in people — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited 3 / 7 Cited 16 times (OpenAlex, 2026-10-10)
Citations per year 2 / 5 5.3 citations a year over 3 year(s) since 2025
Impact for its field and year 4 / 6 Cited 10.2× the average for papers of its field and year (OpenAlex FWCI)
Cited by studies here 1 / 6 Cited by 1 other studies in this library
Still being cited 2 / 4 Cited 16 times in 2024–2026 (2026 still in progress; OpenAlex)
Senior author's track record — / 4 Senior author's record not available — left out of this score
Institution's track record 2 / 3 University of California, San Francisco: institution h-index 1,915 (OpenAlex)
Multi-centre collaboration 2 / 3 OpenAlex lists 9 institution(s) in 4 countries
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 40443531)
Free to read 2 / 2 Free to read
Points 48 / 96 Scored on 19 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 48 of the 96 points we could judge it on is 50 out of 100.
Total 50 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Full text: free to read — OpenAlex lists this copy as free to read: the link above (checked 6 Feb 1020).

Studies this one cites

Referenced by this study and also in the alzhub library, so you can read them here.

Later studies that cite this one

1 study in the alzhub library lists this one in its references.

Related studies in Mild cognitive impairment

Also tagged “amyloid-beta”

1,339 studies in the library carry the topic tag “amyloid-beta”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 1,339 tagged studies.

Similar studies

More on Mild cognitive impairment

See all studies in Mild cognitive impairment →