Home › Research › Risk genes beyond APOE
[DIAN/DIAN-J/DIAN-TU]
Hiroyuki Shimada, Mikio Shoji, Takeshi Ikeuchi, Kazushi Suzuki, Michio Senda, Kenji Ishii, Hiroshi Matsuda, Atsushi Iwata et al.. Brain and nerve = Shinkei kenkyu no shinpo, 2017-07
Topic: Genetics and APOE
The Dominantly Inherited Alzheimer's Network (DIAN) observational study compared pathophysiological markers between mutation carriers and non-carriers in autosomal dominant Alzheimer's disease. This study revealed that changes in the biomarkers in the mutation carrier's brain start as early as 20 or even 25 years prior to the onset of symptoms. Doctors of the DIAN-Japan team have successfully implemented the DIAN study in Japan (DIAN-J) with effort and enthusiasm. The DIAN-J study is completely compatible with the DIAN study. All members of the DIAN-J team were certified by the NIH and Washington University. The DIAN researchers started a prevention trial (DIAN-TU) testing two monoclonal antibodies in 2013. Together with the DIAN global members including the Japanese team, they will start the new DIAN-TU NexGen Trial testing a BACE inhibitor in 2017. The API study is another clinical trial of anti-amyloid monoclonal antibody therapy for family members of patients with early-onset familial AD who carry the PSEN1 E280A mutation. This study has shown the same biomarker changes that were reported in the DIAN study.
Key findings
- This study revealed that changes in the biomarkers in the mutation carrier's brain start as early as 20 or even 25 years prior to the onset of symptoms.
New to this subject? Start with our plain-English guide: Genetics →
Study details
- Evidence strengthLow
How this study scored 39/100
Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design, sample size, effect reported, studied in people and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record, multi-centre collaboration and free to read, so those were left out: it earned 22 of the 56 points we could judge it on, which is 39 out of 100.
| Component | Points | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Journal tier | 7 / 10 | Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Brain and nerve = Shinkei kenkyu no shinpo) |
| Journal's citation record | — / 4 | No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Study design | 0 / 12 | No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Strength of evidence | 1 / 5 | Rated “low” in our summary |
| Peer-review validation | 10 / 10 | Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal. |
| How recent | 2 / 5 | 2017 — within 10 year(s) of the newest study here |
| Sample size | 0 / 4 | Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Effect reported | 0 / 3 | No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Studied in people | 0 / 3 | Not stated whether this was studied in people — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Randomised / blinded | 0 / 2 | No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Times cited | — / 7 | No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score |
| Citations per year | — / 5 | No citation count or no year — left out of this score |
| Impact for its field and year | — / 6 | No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score |
| Cited by studies here | — / 6 | Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score |
| Still being cited | — / 4 | No yearly citation counts — left out of this score |
| Senior author's track record | — / 4 | Senior author's record not available — left out of this score |
| Institution's track record | — / 3 | No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Multi-centre collaboration | — / 3 | Institutions not listed — left out of this score |
| Indexed in PubMed | 2 / 2 | Indexed in PubMed (PMID 28739983) |
| Free to read | — / 2 | Access not recorded — left out of this score |
| Points | 22 / 56 | Scored on 10 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 22 of the 56 points we could judge it on is 39 out of 100. |
| Total | 39 / 100 | — |
What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →
Read the original
Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.
Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris
Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.
APA 7th
Shimada, H., Shoji, M., Ikeuchi, T., Suzuki, K., Senda, M., Ishii, K., et al. (2017). [DIAN/DIAN-J/DIAN-TU]. Brain and nerve = Shinkei kenkyu no shinpo. https://doi.org/10.11477/mf.1416200811
Vancouver
Shimada H, Shoji M, Ikeuchi T, Suzuki K, Senda M, Ishii K, et al. [DIAN/DIAN-J/DIAN-TU]. Brain and nerve = Shinkei kenkyu no shinpo. 2017. doi:10.11477/mf.1416200811. PMID: 28739983.
BibTeX
@article{shimada2017-28739983,
author = {Shimada, Hiroyuki and Shoji, Mikio and Ikeuchi, Takeshi and Suzuki, Kazushi and Senda, Michio and Ishii, Kenji and Matsuda, Hiroshi and Iwata, Atsushi and others},
title = {{[DIAN/DIAN-J/DIAN-TU]}},
journal = {Brain and nerve = Shinkei kenkyu no shinpo},
year = {2017},
doi = {10.11477/mf.1416200811},
pmid = {28739983},
url = {https://doi.org/10.11477/mf.1416200811}
}
Related studies in Risk genes beyond APOE
Also tagged “aducanumab”
332 studies in the library carry the topic tag “aducanumab”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 332 tagged studies.