Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 43 out of 100. Hippocampus size on brain scans

Topic: Brain proteins, microglia and lab models

Purpose The clinical relevance of resting state functional connectivity in neurologic disorders, including mesial temporal lobe epilepsy (mTLE), remains unclear. This study investigated how connectivity in the default mode network changes with unilateral damage to one of its nodes, the hippocampus (HC), and how such connectivity can be exploited clinically to characterize memory deficits and indicate postsurgical memory change. Methods Functional magnetic resonance imaging (fMRI) resting state scans and neuropsychological memory assessments (Warrington Recognition Tests for Words and Faces) were performed on 19 healthy controls, 20 patients with right mTLE, and 18 patients with left mTLE. In addition, postsurgical fMRI resting state and memory change (postsurgical memory performance-presurgical memory performance) data were available for half of these patients. Key findings Patients with mTLE showed reduced connectivity from the posterior cingulate cortex (PCC) to the epileptogenic HC and increased PCC connectivity to the contralateral HC. Stronger PCC connectivity to the epileptogenic HC was associated with better presurgical memory and with greater postsurgical memory decline. Stronger PCC connectivity to the contralateral HC was associated with less postsurgical memory decline. Following surgery, PCC connectivity to the remaining HC increased from presurgical values and showed enhanced correlation with postsurgical memory function. It is notable that this index was superior to others (hippocampal volume, preoperative memory scores) in explaining variance in memory change following surgery. Significance Our results demonstrate the striking clinical significance of the brain's intrinsic connectivity in evaluating cognitive capacity and indicating the potential of postsurgical cognitive morbidity in patients with mTLE.

Key findings

Study details

How this study scored 43/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 7 of 10; Journal's citation record left out, no data; Study design 0 of 12; Strength of evidence 1 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 1 of 5; Sample size 1 of 4; Effect reported 0 of 3; Studied in people 3 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited left out, no data; Citations per year left out, no data; Impact for its field and year left out, no data; Cited by studies here left out, no data; Still being cited left out, no data; Senior author's track record left out, no data; Institution's track record left out, no data; Multi-centre collaboration left out, no data; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read 0 of 2. 25 of the 58 points it could be judged on, which is 43 of 100. Total 43 of 100.25 of the 58 points we could judge = 43 of 100

Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design, effect reported and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record and multi-centre collaboration, so those were left out: it earned 25 of the 58 points we could judge it on, which is 43 out of 100.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 7 / 10 Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Epilepsia)
Journal's citation record — / 4 No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score
Study design 0 / 12 No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Strength of evidence 1 / 5 Rated “low” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 1 / 5 2013 — within 20 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 1 / 4 20 participants
Effect reported 0 / 3 No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Studied in people 3 / 3 Studied in people (participant count stated)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited — / 7 No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score
Citations per year — / 5 No citation count or no year — left out of this score
Impact for its field and year — / 6 No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score
Cited by studies here — / 6 Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score
Still being cited — / 4 No yearly citation counts — left out of this score
Senior author's track record — / 4 Senior author's record not available — left out of this score
Institution's track record — / 3 No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score
Multi-centre collaboration — / 3 Institutions not listed — left out of this score
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 23360362)
Free to read 0 / 2 Behind a paywall — scores zero
Points 25 / 58 Scored on 11 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 25 of the 58 points we could judge it on is 43 out of 100.
Total 43 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

APA 7th

McCormick, C., Quraan, M., Cohn, M., Valiante, T. A., & McAndrews, M. P. (2013). Default mode network connectivity indicates episodic memory capacity in mesial temporal lobe epilepsy. Epilepsia. https://doi.org/10.1111/epi.12098

Vancouver

McCormick C, Quraan M, Cohn M, Valiante TA, McAndrews MP. Default mode network connectivity indicates episodic memory capacity in mesial temporal lobe epilepsy. Epilepsia. 2013. doi:10.1111/epi.12098. PMID: 23360362.

BibTeX

@article{mccormick2013-23360362,
  author  = {McCormick, C. and Quraan, M. and Cohn, M. and Valiante, T. A. and McAndrews, M. P.},
  title   = {{Default mode network connectivity indicates episodic memory capacity in mesial temporal lobe epilepsy}},
  journal = {Epilepsia},
  year    = {2013},
  doi     = {10.1111/epi.12098},
  pmid    = {23360362},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.1111/epi.12098}
}

Related studies in Hippocampus size on brain scans

Similar studies

More on Hippocampus size on brain scans

See all studies in Hippocampus size on brain scans →