Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 59 out of 100. Cognitive tests and assessment

Topic: Amyloid, tau and blood-test diagnosis

Background Early identification of cognitive impairment and brain pathology associated with Alzheimer's disease (AD) is essential to maximize benefits from lifestyle interventions and emerging pharmacologic disease-modifying treatments (DMT). Digital cognitive assessments (DCAs) can quickly capture an array of metrics that can be used to train machine-learning (ML) models to concurrently evaluate different outcomes. DCAs have the potential to optimize clinical workflows and enable efficient assessment of cognitive function and the likelihood of a given underlying pathology. Methods We assessed the ability of a multimodal ML-enabled DCA, the Digital Clock and Recall (DCR), to concurrently estimate brain amyloid-beta (Aβ) status and detect cognitive impairment, as compared with traditional cognitive assessments, including the MMSE, RAVLT, a DCA, Cognivue ® , and blood-based biomarkers in 930 participants from the Bio-Hermes-001 clinical study. Results Aβ42/40, p-tau181, APS, and p-tau217 poorly classified cognitive impairment (AUCs: 0.61; 0.63; 0.63; 0.70, respectively), but accurately classified Aβ status (AUCs: 0.81; 0.78; 0.85, 0.89, respectively). MMSE, RAVLT, and Cognivue poorly classified Aβ status (AUCs: 0.70, 0.73, 0.70, respectively). However, separate multimodal, DCR-based ML classification models, run in parallel, accurately classified both cognitive impairment (AUC = 0.83) and Aβ-PET status (AUC = 0.81). Conclusions DCAs that leverage digital technologies to generate advanced metrics, such as the DCR, enable accurate and efficient detection of cognitive impairment associated with AD pathology. They have the potential to empower health systems and primary care providers to help their patients make timely treatment decisions.

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

APA 7th

Jannati, A., Thompson, K., Toro-Serey, C., Gomes-Osman, J., Banks, R. E., Higgins, C., et al. (2025). Concurrent detection of cognitive impairment and amyloid positivity with a multimodal machine learning-enabled digital cognitive assessment. Alzheimer's research & therapy. https://doi.org/10.1186/s13195-025-01913-5

Vancouver

Jannati A, Thompson K, Toro-Serey C, Gomes-Osman J, Banks RE, Higgins C, et al. Concurrent detection of cognitive impairment and amyloid positivity with a multimodal machine learning-enabled digital cognitive assessment. Alzheimer's research & therapy. 2025. doi:10.1186/s13195-025-01913-5. PMID: 41382170.

BibTeX

@article{jannati2025-41382170,
  author  = {Jannati, A. and Thompson, K. and Toro-Serey, C. and Gomes-Osman, J. and Banks, R. E. and Higgins, C. and Showalter, J. and Bates, D. and others},
  title   = {{Concurrent detection of cognitive impairment and amyloid positivity with a multimodal machine learning-enabled digital cognitive assessment}},
  journal = {Alzheimer's research \& therapy},
  year    = {2025},
  doi     = {10.1186/s13195-025-01913-5},
  pmid    = {41382170},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.1186/s13195-025-01913-5}
}

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

Key findings

Study details

How this study scored 59/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 7 of 10; Journal's citation record left out, no data; Study design 0 of 12; Strength of evidence 1 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 4 of 5; Sample size 2 of 4; Effect reported 3 of 3; Studied in people 3 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited left out, no data; Citations per year left out, no data; Impact for its field and year left out, no data; Cited by studies here left out, no data; Still being cited left out, no data; Senior author's track record left out, no data; Institution's track record left out, no data; Multi-centre collaboration left out, no data; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read 2 of 2. 34 of the 58 points it could be judged on, which is 59 of 100. Total 59 of 100.34 of the 58 points we could judge = 59 of 100

Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record and multi-centre collaboration, so those were left out: it earned 34 of the 58 points we could judge it on, which is 59 out of 100.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 7 / 10 Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Alzheimer's research & therapy)
Journal's citation record — / 4 No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score
Study design 0 / 12 No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Strength of evidence 1 / 5 Rated “low” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 4 / 5 2025 — within 3 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 2 / 4 930 participants
Effect reported 3 / 3 Effect reported with a statistic (interval, p-value, ratio or similar)
Studied in people 3 / 3 Studied in people (participant count stated)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited — / 7 No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score
Citations per year — / 5 No citation count or no year — left out of this score
Impact for its field and year — / 6 No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score
Cited by studies here — / 6 Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score
Still being cited — / 4 No yearly citation counts — left out of this score
Senior author's track record — / 4 Senior author's record not available — left out of this score
Institution's track record — / 3 No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score
Multi-centre collaboration — / 3 Institutions not listed — left out of this score
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 41382170)
Free to read 2 / 2 Free to read
Points 34 / 58 Scored on 11 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 34 of the 58 points we could judge it on is 59 out of 100.
Total 59 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.

Related studies in Cognitive tests and assessment

Also tagged “amyloid-positivity”

2 studies in the library carry the topic tag “amyloid-positivity”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 2 tagged studies.

Similar studies

More on Cognitive tests and assessment

See all studies in Cognitive tests and assessment →