Cerebral Microbleeds and Amyloid Pathology Estimates From the Amyloid Biomarker Study
Julie Elisabeth Oomens, Veerle van Gils, Stephanie J. B. Vos, Whitney M. Freeze, Nancy Nairi Maserejian, Gioacchino G. Curiale, Cai Gillis, Merçé Boada et al.. JAMA Network Open, 2025-01-22
Topic: Amyloid, tau and blood-test diagnosis
Among 4080 participants included in the analysis, the mean (SD) age was 66.5 (8.9) years, and 2241 (54.9%) were female. A total of 2973 participants had no cognitive impairment (cognitive unimpairment [CU]), and 1107 had mild cognitive impairment (MCI) or AD dementia (ADD). One thousand five hundred and thirteen participants (37.1%) had amyloid pathology, 1368 of 3599 (38.0%) with data available were APOE ε4 carriers, and 648 (15.9%) had CMBs. In the CU group, amyloid pathology and APOE ε4 copy number were not associated with presence of any, no more than 4, or fewer than 2 CMBs but were associated with increased odds of lobar CMBs (odds ratio [OR] for amyloid, 1.42 [95% CI, 1.20-1.69], P < .001; OR for 2 vs 0 alleles, 1.81 [95% CI, 1.19-2.74], P = .006; OR for 1 vs 0 alleles, 1.10 [95% CI, 0.83-1.46], P = .49; and OR for 2 vs 1 allele, 1.64 [95% CI, 0.90-2.97], P = .11; overall P = .02). In the MCI-ADD group, amyloid pathology was associated with presence of any CMBs (OR, 1.51 [95% CI, 1.17-1.96], P = .002), no more than 4 CMBs (OR, 1.44 [95% CI, 1.18-1.82], P = .002), and fewer than 2 CMBs (OR 1.34 [95% CI, 1.03-1.74], P = .03) but not lobar CMBs. APOE ε4 copy number was associated with presence of any (OR for 2 vs 0 alleles, 1.72 [95% CI, 0.88-3.35], P = .11; OR for 1 vs 0 alleles, 0.78 [95% CI, 0.59-1.04], P = .09; and OR for 2 vs 1 allele, 2.20 [95% CI, 1.32-3.67], P = .002; overall P < .001) and no more than 4 CMBs (OR for 2 vs 0 alleles, 1.31 [95% CI, 0.64-2.68], P = .45; OR for 1 vs 0 alleles, 0.75 [95% CI, 0.54-1.04], P = .08; and OR for 2 vs 1 allele, 1.76 [95% CI, 0.97-3.19], P = .06; overall P = .03) but not with fewer than 2 or lobar CMBs. Prevalence estimates of CMBs ranged from 6% at 50 years of age in a non-APOE ε4 allele carrier with no amyloid pathology and no cognitive impairment to 52% at 90 years of age in an APOE ε4 homozygote carrier with amyloid pathology and cognitive impairment. Conclusions and Relevance: In this cross-sectional study of 4080 participants, prevalence estimates of CMBs were associated with amyloid status, APOE ε4 copy number, and age. CMB prevalence estimates may help inform safety evaluations for antiamyloid clinical trials.
Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris
APA 7th
Oomens, J. E., van Gils, V., Vos, S. J. B., Freeze, W. M., Maserejian, N. N., Curiale, G. G., et al. (2025). Cerebral Microbleeds and Amyloid Pathology Estimates From the Amyloid Biomarker Study. JAMA Network Open. https://doi.org/10.1001/jamanetworkopen.2024.55571
Vancouver
Oomens JE, van Gils V, Vos SJB, Freeze WM, Maserejian NN, Curiale GG, et al. Cerebral Microbleeds and Amyloid Pathology Estimates From the Amyloid Biomarker Study. JAMA Network Open. 2025. doi:10.1001/jamanetworkopen.2024.55571. PMID: 39841474.
BibTeX
@article{oomens2025-39841474,
author = {Oomens, Julie Elisabeth and van Gils, Veerle and Vos, Stephanie J. B. and Freeze, Whitney M. and Maserejian, Nancy Nairi and Curiale, Gioacchino G. and Gillis, Cai and Boada, Merçé and others},
title = {{Cerebral Microbleeds and Amyloid Pathology Estimates From the Amyloid Biomarker Study}},
journal = {JAMA Network Open},
year = {2025},
doi = {10.1001/jamanetworkopen.2024.55571},
pmid = {39841474},
url = {https://doi.org/10.1001/jamanetworkopen.2024.55571}
}
Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.
Key findings
- Among 4080 participants included in the analysis, the mean (SD) age was 66.5 (8.9) years, and 2241 (54.9%) were female.
- A total of 2973 participants had no cognitive impairment (cognitive unimpairment [CU]), and 1107 had mild cognitive impairment (MCI) or AD dementia (ADD).
- One thousand five hundred and thirteen participants (37.1%) had amyloid pathology, 1368 of 3599 (38.0%) with data available were APOE ε4 carriers, and 648 (15.9%) had CMBs.
- In the CU group, amyloid pathology and APOE ε4 copy number were not associated with presence of any, no more than 4, or fewer than 2 CMBs but were associated with increased odds of lobar CMBs (odds ratio [OR] for amyloid, 1.42 [95% CI, 1.20-1.69], P < .001; OR for 2 vs 0 alleles, 1.81 [95% CI, 1.19-2.74], P = .006; OR for 1 vs 0 alleles, 1.10 [95% CI, 0.83-1.46], P = .49; and OR for 2 vs 1 allele, 1.64 [95% CI, 0.90-2.97], P = .11; overall P = .02).
- In the MCI-ADD group, amyloid pathology was associated with presence of any CMBs (OR, 1.51 [95% CI, 1.17-1.96], P = .002), no more than 4 CMBs (OR, 1.44 [95% CI, 1.18-1.82], P = .002), and fewer than 2 CMBs (OR 1.34 [95% CI, 1.03-1.74], P = .03) but not lobar CMBs.
Why it matters
In this cross-sectional study of 4,080 participants, amyloid pathology and APOE ε4 copy number were associated with increased odds of lobar cerebral microbleeds in cognitively unimpaired people. In those with mild cognitive impairment or Alzheimer dementia, amyloid pathology was associated with presence of any cerebral microbleeds.
New to this subject? Start with our plain-English guide: Genetics →
Study details
- Study designcross-sectional
- Participants4,080
- Effect size54.9%; 37.1%; 38.0%
- Evidence strengthLow
How this study scored 56/100
Published in a leading specialty journal, and it is a snapshot of people at one point in time. Scored zero for randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on senior author's track record, so that was left out: it earned 54 of the 96 points we could judge it on, which is 56 out of 100.
| Component | Points | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Journal tier | 9 / 10 | Tier 2 — leading specialty journal (JAMA Network Open) |
| Journal's citation record | 2 / 4 | JAMA Network Open: journal h-index 235 (OpenAlex, 2026-10-29) |
| Study design | 4 / 12 | A snapshot of people at one point in time |
| Strength of evidence | 1 / 5 | Rated “low” in our summary |
| Peer-review validation | 10 / 10 | Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal. |
| How recent | 4 / 5 | 2025 — within 3 year(s) of the newest study here |
| Sample size | 3 / 4 | 4,080 participants |
| Effect reported | 2 / 3 | Effect reported as a number, without an interval or test |
| Studied in people | 3 / 3 | Studied in people (participant count stated) |
| Randomised / blinded | 0 / 2 | No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Times cited | 2 / 7 | Cited 5 times (OpenAlex, 2026-10-10) |
| Citations per year | 1 / 5 | 1.7 citations a year over 3 year(s) since 2025 |
| Impact for its field and year | 2 / 6 | Cited 2.8× the average for papers of its field and year (OpenAlex FWCI) |
| Cited by studies here | 1 / 6 | Cited by 1 other studies in this library |
| Still being cited | 1 / 4 | Cited 5 times in 2024–2026 (2026 still in progress; OpenAlex) |
| Senior author's track record | — / 4 | Senior author's record not available — left out of this score |
| Institution's track record | 2 / 3 | University College London: institution h-index 2,029 (OpenAlex) |
| Multi-centre collaboration | 3 / 3 | OpenAlex lists 36 institution(s) in 9 countries |
| Indexed in PubMed | 2 / 2 | Indexed in PubMed (PMID 39841474) |
| Free to read | 2 / 2 | Free to read |
| Points | 54 / 96 | Scored on 19 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 54 of the 96 points we could judge it on is 56 out of 100. |
| Total | 56 / 100 | — |
What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →
Read the original
- DOI: 10.1001/jamanetworkopen.2024.55571
- PubMed: 39841474
- Original source →
- Free full text: JAMA Network Open →
Full text: free to read — OpenAlex lists this copy as free to read: the link above (checked 6 Feb 1020).
Studies this one cites
Referenced by this study and also in the alzhub library, so you can read them here.
Later studies that cite this one
1 study in the alzhub library lists this one in its references.
Related studies in Genetics
Also tagged “cerebrospinal”
821 studies in the library carry the topic tag “cerebrospinal”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 821 tagged studies.