Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 39 out of 100. Genetics

Topic: Gut, metabolism and diet

Apolipoprotein E (APOE) ε4 gene allele and type 2 diabetes mellitus (T2DM) are prime risk factors for Alzheimer's disease (AD). Despite evidence linking T2DM and apoE4, the mechanism underlying their interaction is yet to be determined. In the present study, we employed a model of APOE-targeted replacement mice and high-fat diet (HFD)-induced insulin resistance to investigate diabetic mechanisms associated with apoE4 pathology and the extent to which they are driven by peripheral and central processes. Results obtained revealed an intriguing pattern, in which under basal conditions, apoE4 mice display impaired glucose and insulin tolerance and decreased insulin secretion, as well as cognitive and sensorimotor characteristics relative to apoE3 mice, while the HFD impairs apoE3 mice without significantly affecting apoE4 mice. Measurements of weight and fasting blood glucose levels increased in a time-dependent manner following the HFD, though no effect of genotype was observed. Interestingly, sciatic electrophysiological and skin intra-epidermal nerve fiber density (IENFD) peripheral measurements were not affected by the APOE genotype or HFD, suggesting that the observed sensorimotor and cognitive phenotypes are related to central nervous system processes. Indeed, measurements of hippocampal insulin receptor and glycogen synthase kinase-3β (GSK-3β) activation revealed a pattern similar to that obtained in the behavioral measurements while Akt activation presented a dominant effect of diet. HFD manipulation induced genotype-independent hyperlipidation of apoE, and reduced levels of brain apoE in apoE3 mice, rendering them similar to apoE4 mice, whose brain apoE levels were not affected by the diet. No such effect was observed in the peripheral plasma levels of apoE, suggesting that the pathological effects of apoE4 under the control diet and apoE3 under HFD conditions are related to the decreased levels of brain apoE. Taken together, our data suggests that diabetic mechanisms play an important role in mediating the pathological effects of apoE4 and that consequently, diabetic-related therapy may be useful in treating apoE4 pathology in AD.

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

APA 7th

Koren-Iton, A., Salomon-Zimri, S., Smolar, A., Shavit-Stein, E., Dori, A., Chapman, J., et al. (2020). Central and Peripheral Mechanisms in ApoE4-Driven Diabetic Pathology. International journal of molecular sciences. https://doi.org/10.3390/ijms21041289

Vancouver

Koren-Iton A, Salomon-Zimri S, Smolar A, Shavit-Stein E, Dori A, Chapman J, et al. Central and Peripheral Mechanisms in ApoE4-Driven Diabetic Pathology. International journal of molecular sciences. 2020. doi:10.3390/ijms21041289. PMID: 32075060.

BibTeX

@article{koreniton2020-32075060,
  author  = {Koren-Iton, Amit and Salomon-Zimri, Shiran and Smolar, Alex and Shavit-Stein, Efrat and Dori, Amir and Chapman, Joab and Michaelson, Daniel M},
  title   = {{Central and Peripheral Mechanisms in ApoE4-Driven Diabetic Pathology}},
  journal = {International journal of molecular sciences},
  year    = {2020},
  doi     = {10.3390/ijms21041289},
  pmid    = {32075060},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.3390/ijms21041289}
}

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record names 7 authors; APA and Vancouver show the first six, BibTeX and the downloads carry all of them. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

Key findings

Study details

How this study scored 39/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 7 of 10; Journal's citation record left out, no data; Study design 0 of 12; Strength of evidence 1 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 2 of 5; Sample size 0 of 4; Effect reported 0 of 3; Studied in people 0 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited left out, no data; Citations per year left out, no data; Impact for its field and year left out, no data; Cited by studies here left out, no data; Still being cited left out, no data; Senior author's track record left out, no data; Institution's track record left out, no data; Multi-centre collaboration left out, no data; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read left out, no data. 22 of the 56 points it could be judged on, which is 39 of 100. Total 39 of 100.22 of the 56 points we could judge = 39 of 100

Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design, sample size, effect reported, studied in people and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record, multi-centre collaboration and free to read, so those were left out: it earned 22 of the 56 points we could judge it on, which is 39 out of 100.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 7 / 10 Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (International journal of molecular sciences)
Journal's citation record — / 4 No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score
Study design 0 / 12 No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Strength of evidence 1 / 5 Rated “low” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 2 / 5 2020 — within 10 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 0 / 4 Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Effect reported 0 / 3 No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Studied in people 0 / 3 Not stated whether this was studied in people — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited — / 7 No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score
Citations per year — / 5 No citation count or no year — left out of this score
Impact for its field and year — / 6 No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score
Cited by studies here — / 6 Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score
Still being cited — / 4 No yearly citation counts — left out of this score
Senior author's track record — / 4 Senior author's record not available — left out of this score
Institution's track record — / 3 No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score
Multi-centre collaboration — / 3 Institutions not listed — left out of this score
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 32075060)
Free to read — / 2 Access not recorded — left out of this score
Points 22 / 56 Scored on 10 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 22 of the 56 points we could judge it on is 39 out of 100.
Total 39 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.

Related studies in Genetics

Also tagged “apoe2”

266 studies in the library carry the topic tag “apoe2”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 266 tagged studies.

Similar studies

More on Genetics

See all studies in Genetics →