Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 42 out of 100. Risk genes beyond APOE

Topic: Brain proteins, microglia and lab models

Caloric restriction (CR) mitigates neurological damage arising from aging and a variety of other sources, including neuropathology in young adult mice that express single and double transgenic (tg) mutations associated with Alzheimer disease (AD). To evaluate the potential of CR to protect against relatively heavy AD-type pathology, middle-aged (13-14-month-old) mice that co-express two mutations related to familial AD, amyloid precursor protein (APP) and presenilin 1 (PS1), were fed balanced diets with 40% fewer calories than ad libitum-fed controls. Following 18 weeks of treatment, mice were killed and brains were processed for quantification of total volume of amyloid-beta (Abeta) in the hippocampal formation and the overlying neocortex.

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

APA 7th

Mouton, P. R., Chachich, M. E., Quigley, C., Spangler, E., & Ingram, D. K. (2009). Caloric restriction attenuates amyloid deposition in middle-aged dtg APP/PS1 mice. Neuroscience letters. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.neulet.2009.08.038

Vancouver

Mouton PR, Chachich ME, Quigley C, Spangler E, Ingram DK. Caloric restriction attenuates amyloid deposition in middle-aged dtg APP/PS1 mice. Neuroscience letters. 2009. doi:10.1016/j.neulet.2009.08.038. PMID: 19699265.

BibTeX

@article{mouton2009-19699265,
  author  = {Mouton, P. R. and Chachich, M. E. and Quigley, C. and Spangler, E. and Ingram, D. K.},
  title   = {{Caloric restriction attenuates amyloid deposition in middle-aged dtg APP/PS1 mice}},
  journal = {Neuroscience letters},
  year    = {2009},
  doi     = {10.1016/j.neulet.2009.08.038},
  pmid    = {19699265},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.1016/j.neulet.2009.08.038}
}

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

Key findings

Why it matters

Middle-aged mice carrying APP and PS1 mutations fed a diet with 40% fewer calories than controls showed reduced amyloid-beta volume in the hippocampal formation and overlying neocortex after 18 weeks. This is animal research only and does not show that caloric restriction prevents or treats Alzheimer disease in people.

Study details

How this study scored 42/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 7 of 10; Journal's citation record 3 of 4; Study design 0 of 12; Strength of evidence 1 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 1 of 5; Sample size 0 of 4; Effect reported 0 of 3; Studied in people 0 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited 5 of 7; Citations per year 2 of 5; Impact for its field and year 3 of 6; Cited by studies here 1 of 6; Still being cited 1 of 4; Senior author's track record 3 of 4; Institution's track record 1 of 3; Multi-centre collaboration 2 of 3; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read 0 of 2. Total 42 of 100.42 of 100 points earned58 not earned

Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design, sample size, effect reported and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 7 / 10 Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Neuroscience letters)
Journal's citation record 3 / 4 Neuroscience Letters: journal h-index 267 (OpenAlex, 2026-10-29)
Study design 0 / 12 No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Strength of evidence 1 / 5 Rated “low” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 1 / 5 2009 — within 20 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 0 / 4 Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Effect reported 0 / 3 No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Studied in people 0 / 3 Laboratory or animal study (title names “app/ps1”) — scores zero
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited 5 / 7 Cited 118 times (OpenAlex, 2026-10-10)
Citations per year 2 / 5 6.2 citations a year over 19 year(s) since 2009
Impact for its field and year 3 / 6 Cited 3.7× the average for papers of its field and year (OpenAlex FWCI)
Cited by studies here 1 / 6 Cited by 2 other studies in this library
Still being cited 1 / 4 Cited 14 times in 2024–2026 (2026 still in progress; OpenAlex)
Senior author's track record 3 / 4 Last-listed author Donald K. Ingram: h-index 88 (OpenAlex, whole career)
Institution's track record 1 / 3 National Institute on Aging: institution h-index 907 (OpenAlex)
Multi-centre collaboration 2 / 3 OpenAlex lists 5 institution(s) in 1 country
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 19699265)
Free to read 0 / 2 Behind a paywall — scores zero
Total 42 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Full text: free to read — OpenAlex lists this copy as free to read: the link above (checked 6 Feb 1020).

Studies this one cites

Referenced by this study and also in the alzhub library, so you can read them here.

Later studies that cite this one

2 studies in the alzhub library list this one in their references.

Related studies in Risk genes beyond APOE

Also tagged “tdp-43”

1,150 studies in the library carry the topic tag “tdp-43”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 1,150 tagged studies.

Similar studies

More on Risk genes beyond APOE

See all studies in Risk genes beyond APOE →