Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 52 out of 100. Lewy body dementia

Topic: Brain proteins, microglia and lab models

The discovery that repeat expansions in the C9orf72 gene are a frequent cause of amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS) and frontotemporal dementia (FTD) has revolutionized our understanding of these diseases. Substantial headway has been made in characterizing C9orf72-mediated disease and unravelling its underlying aetiopathogenesis. Three main disease mechanisms have been proposed: loss of function of the C9orf72 protein and toxic gain of function from C9orf72 repeat RNA or from dipeptide repeat proteins produced by repeat-associated non-ATG translation. Several downstream processes across a range of cellular functions have also been implicated. In this article, we review the pathological and mechanistic features of C9orf72-associated FTD and ALS (collectively termed C9FTD/ALS), the model systems used to study these conditions, and the probable initiators of downstream disease mechanisms. We suggest that a combination of upstream mechanisms involving both loss and gain of function and downstream cellular pathways involving both cell-autonomous and non-cell-autonomous effects contributes to disease progression.

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

APA 7th

Balendra, R., & Isaacs, A. M. (2018). C9orf72-mediated ALS and FTD: multiple pathways to disease. Nature reviews. Neurology. https://doi.org/10.1038/s41582-018-0047-2

Vancouver

Balendra R, Isaacs AM. C9orf72-mediated ALS and FTD: multiple pathways to disease. Nature reviews. Neurology. 2018. doi:10.1038/s41582-018-0047-2. PMID: 30120348.

BibTeX

@article{balendra2018-30120348,
  author  = {Balendra, R. and Isaacs, A. M.},
  title   = {{C9orf72-mediated ALS and FTD: multiple pathways to disease}},
  journal = {Nature reviews. Neurology},
  year    = {2018},
  doi     = {10.1038/s41582-018-0047-2},
  pmid    = {30120348},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.1038/s41582-018-0047-2}
}

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

Key findings

Why it matters

This review proposes that C9orf72-related ALS and FTD arise from a combination of loss and gain of function plus downstream cellular pathways. It is a summary of mechanisms, not a trial, and suggests no specific treatment.

Study details

How this study scored 52/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 7 of 10; Journal's citation record 3 of 4; Study design 0 of 12; Strength of evidence 1 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 2 of 5; Sample size 0 of 4; Effect reported 0 of 3; Studied in people 0 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited 6 of 7; Citations per year 5 of 5; Impact for its field and year 4 of 6; Cited by studies here 2 of 6; Still being cited 4 of 4; Senior author's track record 3 of 4; Institution's track record 2 of 3; Multi-centre collaboration 1 of 3; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read 0 of 2. Total 52 of 100.52 of 100 points earned48 not earned

Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design, sample size, effect reported, studied in people and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 7 / 10 Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Nature reviews. Neurology)
Journal's citation record 3 / 4 Nature Reviews Neurology: journal h-index 269 (OpenAlex, 2026-10-29)
Study design 0 / 12 No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Strength of evidence 1 / 5 Rated “low” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 2 / 5 2018 — within 10 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 0 / 4 Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Effect reported 0 / 3 No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Studied in people 0 / 3 Not stated whether this was studied in people — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited 6 / 7 Cited 723 times (OpenAlex, 2026-10-10)
Citations per year 5 / 5 72.3 citations a year over 10 year(s) since 2018
Impact for its field and year 4 / 6 Cited 14.1× the average for papers of its field and year (OpenAlex FWCI)
Cited by studies here 2 / 6 Cited by 7 other studies in this library
Still being cited 4 / 4 Cited 244 times in 2024–2026 (2026 still in progress; OpenAlex)
Senior author's track record 3 / 4 Last-listed author Adrian M. Isaacs: h-index 51 (OpenAlex, whole career)
Institution's track record 2 / 3 University College London: institution h-index 2,029 (OpenAlex)
Multi-centre collaboration 1 / 3 OpenAlex lists 3 institution(s) in 1 country
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 30120348)
Free to read 0 / 2 Behind a paywall — scores zero
Total 52 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Full text: free to read — OpenAlex lists this copy as free to read: the link above (checked 6 Feb 1020).

Studies this one cites

Referenced by this study and also in the alzhub library, so you can read them here. Showing 12 of 47.

Later studies that cite this one

7 studies in the alzhub library list this one in their references.

Related studies in Lewy body dementia

Also tagged “bodies”

1,017 studies in the library carry the topic tag “bodies”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 1,017 tagged studies.

Similar studies

More on Lewy body dementia

See all studies in Lewy body dementia →