Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

⚠ Preprint — not yet peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 16 out of 100. End-of-life care

Topic: Drug trials: efficacy and safety

Background This study aimed to evaluate the prevalence, drug classes, and associated factors of potentially inappropriate medications (PIMs) in elderly patients with end-stage cancer using the STOPPFrail V2 criteria and the OncPal guideline, thereby providing evidence for medication optimization in palliative care. Methods This retrospective cross-sectional study included 183 elderly cancer patients (aged ≥ 65 years) from a single hospice care center between January 2023 and December 2024. PIMs were identified using the STOPPFrail V2 criteria and the OncPal guideline. Descriptive statistics and multivariable logistic regression were used to assess PIM prevalence and its independent associated factors. Results The prevalence of PIMs was 32.24% (59/183) using STOPPFrail V2 and 18.58% (34/183) using OncPal. The most common PIMs included lipid-lowering drugs (7.65%), antipsychotics in dementia (7.10%), nutritional supplements (7.10%), and glucose-lowering agents (6.56%). Polypharmacy (≥ 5 drugs) was observed in 85.80% of patients. Under both criteria, the number of medications was the strongest independent risk factor (STOPPFrail V2: ≥10 drugs, OR = 18.488, p < 0.001; OncPal: ≥10 drugs, OR = 6.531, p = 0.023). Notably, severe ADL dependence was a protective factor against PIMs (p < 0.05), possibly reflecting deliberate deprescribing of preventive medications. Age, sex, and comorbidity burden showed no significant association with PIMs. Conclusions Polypharmacy and PIMs are highly prevalent in end-of-life elderly cancer patients. The STOPPFrail V2 and OncPal criteria provide complementary dimensions for identifying PIMs, with the former appearing more sensitive in polypharmacy settings. The number of medications is the strongest modifiable risk factor. These findings support integrating routine medication review and deprescribing into palliative care, particularly targeting preventive drugs such as lipid-lowering agents and nutritional supplements, to reduce medication burden and potentially improve quality of life.

Key findings

Study details

How this study scored 16/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 2 of 10; Journal's citation record 0 of 4; Study design 4 of 12; Strength of evidence 1 of 5; Peer-review validation 4 of 10; How recent 5 of 5; Sample size 2 of 4; Effect reported 2 of 3; Studied in people 3 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited left out, no data; Citations per year left out, no data; Impact for its field and year left out, no data; Cited by studies here left out, no data; Still being cited left out, no data; Senior author's track record left out, no data; Institution's track record left out, no data; Multi-centre collaboration left out, no data; Indexed in PubMed 1 of 2; Free to read 0 of 2. 24 of the 62 points it could be judged on, which is 39 of 100. Raw total 39 of 100, shown as 16 because this is not a peer-reviewed research article.raw total 39 of 100capped at 16 — hatched points do not count

Preprint — not yet peer-reviewed. It scored 39 on the same rubric, but non-peer-reviewed sources are capped at 16, so it shows as 16. Scored zero for randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record and multi-centre collaboration, so those were left out: it earned 24 of the 62 points we could judge it on, which is 39 out of 100.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 2 / 10 Tier 4 — not a peer-reviewed journal (Research Square)
Journal's citation record 0 / 4 Not a journal article, so the journal's record does not count
Study design 4 / 12 A snapshot of people at one point in time
Strength of evidence 1 / 5 Rated “low” in our summary
Peer-review validation 4 / 10 Preprint — not yet peer-reviewed. Hosted on a preprint server.
How recent 5 / 5 2026 — within 1 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 2 / 4 183 participants
Effect reported 2 / 3 Effect reported as a number, without an interval or test
Studied in people 3 / 3 Studied in people (participant count stated)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited — / 7 No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score
Citations per year — / 5 No citation count or no year — left out of this score
Impact for its field and year — / 6 No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score
Cited by studies here — / 6 Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score
Still being cited — / 4 No yearly citation counts — left out of this score
Senior author's track record — / 4 Senior author's record not available — left out of this score
Institution's track record — / 3 No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score
Multi-centre collaboration — / 3 Institutions not listed — left out of this score
Indexed in PubMed 1 / 2 Not in PubMed, but has a DOI
Free to read 0 / 2 Behind a paywall — scores zero
Points 24 / 62 Scored on 12 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 24 of the 62 points we could judge it on is 39 out of 100.
Total 39 / 100 Capped to 16 because this is not a peer-reviewed article.

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

APA 7th

Wang, Y., Li, L., Zhe, L., Zhang, S., Jiao, Y., & Li, F. (2026). Assessment of potentially inappropriate medications using STOPPFrail V2 criteria and OncPal guideline in elderly cancer patients with end-stage disease: A cross-sectional study. Research Square. https://doi.org/10.21203/rs.3.rs-9733500/v1

Vancouver

Wang Y, Li L, Zhe L, Zhang S, Jiao Y, Li F. Assessment of potentially inappropriate medications using STOPPFrail V2 criteria and OncPal guideline in elderly cancer patients with end-stage disease: A cross-sectional study. Research Square. 2026. doi:10.21203/rs.3.rs-9733500/v1.

BibTeX

@article{wang2026-7bc8dc76,
  author  = {Wang, Y. and Li, L. and Zhe, L. and Zhang, S. and Jiao, Y. and Li, F.},
  title   = {{Assessment of potentially inappropriate medications using STOPPFrail V2 criteria and OncPal guideline in elderly cancer patients with end-stage disease: A cross-sectional study}},
  journal = {Research Square},
  year    = {2026},
  doi     = {10.21203/rs.3.rs-9733500/v1},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.21203/rs.3.rs-9733500/v1}
}

Related studies in End-of-life care

Similar studies

More on End-of-life care

See all studies in End-of-life care →