Home › Research › Clinical trials
A phase 2 randomized, placebo-controlled study on the efficacy and safety of AR1001, a phosphodiesterase-5 inhibitor, in patients with mild-to-moderate Alzheimer's disease
David Greeley, Marshall Nash, Brad Herskowitz, Fred Kim, James Rock, Neils Prins, SangYun Kim, Tianyang Xi et al.. The journal of prevention of Alzheimer's disease, 2025-09-05
Topic: Drug trials: efficacy and safety
A total of 210 participants were enrolled and 82% completed 26 weeks of treatment. AR1001 10 mg and 30 mg were well-tolerated with a similar safety profile compared to placebo. After 26 weeks, there were no differences in ADAS-Cog13, ADCS-CGIC, or in secondary efficacy endpoints between groups. Levels of plasma biomarkers pTau-181, pTau-217, and GFAP were improved in the 30 mg AR1001 group compared to placebo. AR1001 was safe and well tolerated. Although primary efficacy endpoints were not met after 26 weeks of treatment, participants receiving 30 mg AR1001 showed favorable changes in AD-related plasma biomarkers compared to placebo. TRIAL REGISTRATION: clinicaltrials.gov; NCT03625622.
Key findings
- A total of 210 participants were enrolled and 82% completed 26 weeks of treatment.
- AR1001 10 mg and 30 mg were well-tolerated with a similar safety profile compared to placebo.
- After 26 weeks, there were no differences in ADAS-Cog13, ADCS-CGIC, or in secondary efficacy endpoints between groups.
- Levels of plasma biomarkers pTau-181, pTau-217, and GFAP were improved in the 30 mg AR1001 group compared to placebo.
- Although primary efficacy endpoints were not met after 26 weeks of treatment, participants receiving 30 mg AR1001 showed favorable changes in AD-related plasma biomarkers compared to placebo.
New to this subject? Start with our plain-English guide: Registered clinical trials →
Study details
- Study designclinical trial
- Participants210
- Evidence strengthHigh
How this study scored 81/100
Published in a peer-reviewed journal, and it is a randomised controlled trial. Scored zero for effect reported because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record and free to read, so those were left out: it earned 48 of the 59 points we could judge it on, which is 81 out of 100.
| Component | Points | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Journal tier | 7 / 10 | Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (The journal of prevention of Alzheimer's disease) |
| Journal's citation record | — / 4 | No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Study design | 11 / 12 | A randomised controlled trial (from PubMed type “Randomized Controlled Trial”) |
| Strength of evidence | 5 / 5 | Rated “high” in our summary |
| Peer-review validation | 10 / 10 | Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal. |
| How recent | 4 / 5 | 2025 — within 3 year(s) of the newest study here |
| Sample size | 2 / 4 | 210 participants |
| Effect reported | 0 / 3 | No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Studied in people | 3 / 3 | Studied in people (participant count stated) |
| Randomised / blinded | 2 / 2 | Randomised and blinded or placebo-controlled (as stated in the record) |
| Times cited | — / 7 | No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score |
| Citations per year | — / 5 | No citation count or no year — left out of this score |
| Impact for its field and year | — / 6 | No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score |
| Cited by studies here | — / 6 | Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score |
| Still being cited | — / 4 | No yearly citation counts — left out of this score |
| Senior author's track record | — / 4 | Senior author's record not available — left out of this score |
| Institution's track record | — / 3 | No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Multi-centre collaboration | 2 / 3 | PubMed indexes it as a multicentre study |
| Indexed in PubMed | 2 / 2 | Indexed in PubMed (PMID 40912996) |
| Free to read | — / 2 | Access not recorded — left out of this score |
| Points | 48 / 59 | Scored on 11 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 48 of the 59 points we could judge it on is 81 out of 100. |
| Total | 81 / 100 | — |
What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →
Read the original
Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.
Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris
Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.
APA 7th
Greeley, D., Nash, M., Herskowitz, B., Kim, F., Rock, J., Prins, N., et al. (2025). A phase 2 randomized, placebo-controlled study on the efficacy and safety of AR1001, a phosphodiesterase-5 inhibitor, in patients with mild-to-moderate Alzheimer's disease. The journal of prevention of Alzheimer's disease. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.tjpad.2025.100337
Vancouver
Greeley D, Nash M, Herskowitz B, Kim F, Rock J, Prins N, et al. A phase 2 randomized, placebo-controlled study on the efficacy and safety of AR1001, a phosphodiesterase-5 inhibitor, in patients with mild-to-moderate Alzheimer's disease. The journal of prevention of Alzheimer's disease. 2025. doi:10.1016/j.tjpad.2025.100337. PMID: 40912996.
BibTeX
@article{greeley2025-40912996,
author = {Greeley, David and Nash, Marshall and Herskowitz, Brad and Kim, Fred and Rock, James and Prins, Neils and Kim, SangYun and Xi, Tianyang and others},
title = {{A phase 2 randomized, placebo-controlled study on the efficacy and safety of AR1001, a phosphodiesterase-5 inhibitor, in patients with mild-to-moderate Alzheimer's disease}},
journal = {The journal of prevention of Alzheimer's disease},
year = {2025},
doi = {10.1016/j.tjpad.2025.100337},
pmid = {40912996},
url = {https://doi.org/10.1016/j.tjpad.2025.100337}
}