Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 69 out of 100. Clinical trials

Topic: Drug trials: efficacy and safety

Objective To compare efficacy and safety of tacrine hydrochloride with placebo in patients with probable Alzheimer's disease. Design A 12-week, double-blind, placebo-controlled, parallel-group study. Setting Outpatients at 23 centers. Patients Men and women with probable Alzheimer's disease, at least 50 years old, mildly to moderately impaired, without other significant medical conditions. Interventions In the initial 6 weeks, patients received placebo, 20 mg/d of tacrine, or 40 mg/d of tacrine. In the second 6 weeks, half received the same treatment and half increased tacrine dose: those receiving placebo increased to 20 mg/d, those receiving 20 mg/d increased to 40 mg/d, and those receiving 40 mg/d increased to 80 mg/d. Primary outcome measures Alzheimer's Disease Assessment Scale (ADAS) cognitive component and clinician-rated Clinical Global Impression of Change (CGIC). Results Four hundred sixty-eight patients entered. After 12 weeks, dose-related improvement was significant on the ADAS cognitive (P = .014), clinician-rated CGIC (P = .014), and caregiver-rated CGIC (P = .006). Comparison of 80 mg/d with placebo showed significant improvement on the ADAS cognitive (P = .015), clinician-rated CGIC (P = .016), and caregiver-rated CGIC (P = .028). Significant effects appeared as early as 6 weeks on the ADAS cognitive and caregiver-rated CGIC. Among patients receiving 80 mg/d of tacrine, 51% achieved a four-point or greater improvement of the ADAS cognitive component after 12 weeks of treatment. Reversible asymptomatic transaminase elevations greater than three times normal occurred in 25% of patients. Other treatment-related events included nausea and/or vomiting (8%), diarrhea (5%), abdominal pain (4%), dyspepsia (3%), and rash (3%). Conclusions These results confirm the efficacy and safety of tacrine in some patients with Alzheimer's disease. After 12 weeks, the magnitude of the treatment effect is clinically important and recognized by the physician and caregiver. Liver toxicity is reversible and easily detected by weekly alanine aminotransferase determinations.

Key findings

Study details

How this study scored 69/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 10 of 10; Journal's citation record left out, no data; Study design 11 of 12; Strength of evidence 1 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 1 of 5; Sample size 0 of 4; Effect reported 0 of 3; Studied in people 3 of 3; Randomised / blinded 2 of 2; Times cited left out, no data; Citations per year left out, no data; Impact for its field and year left out, no data; Cited by studies here left out, no data; Still being cited left out, no data; Senior author's track record left out, no data; Institution's track record left out, no data; Multi-centre collaboration 2 of 3; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read 0 of 2. 42 of the 61 points it could be judged on, which is 69 of 100. Total 69 of 100.42 of the 61 points we could judge = 69 of 100

Published in a top-tier journal, and it is a randomised controlled trial. Scored zero for sample size and effect reported because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record and institution's track record, so those were left out: it earned 42 of the 61 points we could judge it on, which is 69 out of 100.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 10 / 10 Tier 1 — top-tier general journal (JAMA)
Journal's citation record — / 4 No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score
Study design 11 / 12 A randomised controlled trial (from PubMed type “Randomized Controlled Trial”)
Strength of evidence 1 / 5 Rated “low” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 1 / 5 1992 — older than 20 years, still counted
Sample size 0 / 4 Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Effect reported 0 / 3 No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Studied in people 3 / 3 Studied in people (pubmed indexes it as a clinical or observational study)
Randomised / blinded 2 / 2 Randomised and blinded or placebo-controlled (as stated in the record)
Times cited — / 7 No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score
Citations per year — / 5 No citation count or no year — left out of this score
Impact for its field and year — / 6 No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score
Cited by studies here — / 6 Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score
Still being cited — / 4 No yearly citation counts — left out of this score
Senior author's track record — / 4 Senior author's record not available — left out of this score
Institution's track record — / 3 No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score
Multi-centre collaboration 2 / 3 PubMed indexes it as a multicentre study
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 1404819)
Free to read 0 / 2 Behind a paywall — scores zero
Points 42 / 61 Scored on 12 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 42 of the 61 points we could judge it on is 69 out of 100.
Total 69 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

APA 7th

Farlow, M., Gracon, S. I., Hershey, L. A., Lewis, K. W., Sadowsky, C. H., & Dolan-Ureno, J. (1992). A controlled trial of tacrine in Alzheimer's disease. The Tacrine Study Group. JAMA. https://doi.org/10.1001/jama.1992.03490180055026

Vancouver

Farlow M, Gracon SI, Hershey LA, Lewis KW, Sadowsky CH, Dolan-Ureno J. A controlled trial of tacrine in Alzheimer's disease. The Tacrine Study Group. JAMA. 1992. doi:10.1001/jama.1992.03490180055026. PMID: 1404819.

BibTeX

@article{farlow1992-1404819,
  author  = {Farlow, M. and Gracon, S. I. and Hershey, L. A. and Lewis, K. W. and Sadowsky, C. H. and Dolan-Ureno, J.},
  title   = {{A controlled trial of tacrine in Alzheimer's disease. The Tacrine Study Group}},
  journal = {JAMA},
  year    = {1992},
  doi     = {10.1001/jama.1992.03490180055026},
  pmid    = {1404819},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.1001/jama.1992.03490180055026}
}

Related studies in Clinical trials

Similar studies

More on Clinical trials

See all studies in Clinical trials →