Home › Research › Brain tissue and pathology
Visualization of Aβ42(43) and Aβ40 in senile plaques with end-specific Aβ monoclonals: Evidence that an initially deposited species is Aβ42(43)
Takeshi Iwatsubo, Asano Odaka, Nobuhiro Suzuki, Hidehiro Mizusawa, Nobuyuki Nukina, Yasuo Ihara. Neuron, 1994-07-01
Topic: Brain proteins, microglia and lab models
We do not hold a plain-English summary of this study yet. Use the links to the original below for its abstract and findings.
Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris
APA 7th
Iwatsubo, T., Odaka, A., Suzuki, N., Mizusawa, H., Nukina, N., & Ihara, Y. (1994). Visualization of Aβ42(43) and Aβ40 in senile plaques with end-specific Aβ monoclonals: Evidence that an initially deposited species is Aβ42(43). Neuron. https://doi.org/10.1016/0896-6273(94)90458-8
Vancouver
Iwatsubo T, Odaka A, Suzuki N, Mizusawa H, Nukina N, Ihara Y. Visualization of Aβ42(43) and Aβ40 in senile plaques with end-specific Aβ monoclonals: Evidence that an initially deposited species is Aβ42(43). Neuron. 1994. doi:10.1016/0896-6273(94)90458-8. PMID: 8043280.
BibTeX
@article{iwatsubo1994-8043280,
author = {Iwatsubo, Takeshi and Odaka, Asano and Suzuki, Nobuhiro and Mizusawa, Hidehiro and Nukina, Nobuyuki and Ihara, Yasuo},
title = {{Visualization of Aβ42(43) and Aβ40 in senile plaques with end-specific Aβ monoclonals: Evidence that an initially deposited species is Aβ42(43)}},
journal = {Neuron},
year = {1994},
doi = {10.1016/0896-6273(94)90458-8},
pmid = {8043280},
url = {https://doi.org/10.1016/0896-6273(94)90458-8}
}
Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. Check the citation against the original before you use it.
Why it matters
Uses end-specific antibodies to visualize Abeta42(43) and Abeta40 in senile plaques, and reports evidence that an initially deposited species is Abeta42(43).
How this study scored 51/100
Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design, sample size, effect reported, studied in people and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on strength of evidence and senior author's track record, so those were left out: it earned 46 of the 91 points we could judge it on, which is 51 out of 100.
| Component | Points | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Journal tier | 7 / 10 | Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Neuron) |
| Journal's citation record | 4 / 4 | Neuron: journal h-index 689 (OpenAlex, 2026-10-29) |
| Study design | 0 / 12 | No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Strength of evidence | — / 5 | No evidence rating recorded — left out of this score |
| Peer-review validation | 10 / 10 | Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal. |
| How recent | 1 / 5 | 1994 — older than 20 years, still counted |
| Sample size | 0 / 4 | Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Effect reported | 0 / 3 | No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Studied in people | 0 / 3 | Not stated whether this was studied in people — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Randomised / blinded | 0 / 2 | No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Times cited | 7 / 7 | Cited 1,778 times (OpenAlex, 2026-10-10) |
| Citations per year | 5 / 5 | 52.3 citations a year over 34 year(s) since 1994 |
| Impact for its field and year | 5 / 6 | Cited 34.1× the average for papers of its field and year (OpenAlex FWCI) |
| Cited by studies here | 0 / 6 | No other study in this library cites it |
| Still being cited | 3 / 4 | Cited 125 times in 2024–2026 (2026 still in progress; OpenAlex) |
| Senior author's track record | — / 4 | OpenAlex's profile for last-listed author Yasuo Ihara holds only 3 work(s), too few to judge a track record — left out of this score |
| Institution's track record | 1 / 3 | The University of Tokyo: institution h-index 1,463 (OpenAlex) |
| Multi-centre collaboration | 1 / 3 | OpenAlex lists 3 institution(s) in 1 country |
| Indexed in PubMed | 2 / 2 | Indexed in PubMed (PMID 8043280) |
| Free to read | 0 / 2 | Behind a paywall — scores zero |
| Points | 46 / 91 | Scored on 18 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 46 of the 91 points we could judge it on is 51 out of 100. |
| Total | 51 / 100 | — |
What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →
Read the original
May need a subscription OpenAlex found no free copy of the full text (checked 6 Feb 1020), so the publisher may charge for it. The PubMed abstract is free.
Related studies in Brain tissue and pathology
Also tagged “precursor”
1,339 studies in the library carry the topic tag “precursor”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 1,339 tagged studies.