Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 46 out of 100. Risk genes beyond APOE

Topic: Amyloid, tau and blood-test diagnosis

Biomarkers to assist in the diagnosis and medical management of Alzheimer disease (AD) are a pressing need. We have employed a proteomic approach, microcapillary liquid chromatography mass spectrometry of proteins labeled with isotope-coded affinity tags (ICAT), to quantify relative changes in the proteome of human cerebrospinal fluid (CSF) obtained from the lumbar cistern. Using CSF from well-characterized AD patients and age-matched controls at 2 different institutions, we quantified protein concentration ratios of 42% of the 390 CSF proteins that we have identified and found differences > or = 20% in over half of them.

Key findings

Why it matters

Using a proteomic method, this study quantified relative protein changes in cerebrospinal fluid from Alzheimer's patients and age-matched controls and found differences of 20% or more in over half of the proteins measured. It is biomarker discovery work and reports no treatment, cure or prevention.

Study details

How this study scored 46/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 7 of 10; Journal's citation record 2 of 4; Study design 0 of 12; Strength of evidence 1 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 1 of 5; Sample size 0 of 4; Effect reported 0 of 3; Studied in people 0 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited 5 of 7; Citations per year 2 of 5; Impact for its field and year 4 of 6; Cited by studies here 2 of 6; Still being cited 1 of 4; Senior author's track record 4 of 4; Institution's track record 3 of 3; Multi-centre collaboration 2 of 3; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read 0 of 2. Total 46 of 100.46 of 100 points earned54 not earned

Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design, sample size, effect reported, studied in people and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 7 / 10 Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Journal of Alzheimer's disease : JAD)
Journal's citation record 2 / 4 Journal of Alzheimer s Disease: journal h-index 218 (OpenAlex, 2026-10-29)
Study design 0 / 12 No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Strength of evidence 1 / 5 Rated “low” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 1 / 5 2005 — older than 20 years, still counted
Sample size 0 / 4 Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Effect reported 0 / 3 No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Studied in people 0 / 3 Not stated whether this was studied in people — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited 5 / 7 Cited 177 times (OpenAlex, 2026-10-10)
Citations per year 2 / 5 7.7 citations a year over 23 year(s) since 2005
Impact for its field and year 4 / 6 Cited 11.3× the average for papers of its field and year (OpenAlex FWCI)
Cited by studies here 2 / 6 Cited by 7 other studies in this library
Still being cited 1 / 4 Cited 8 times in 2024–2026 (2026 still in progress; OpenAlex)
Senior author's track record 4 / 4 Last-listed author Thomas Jude Montine: h-index 115 (OpenAlex, whole career)
Institution's track record 3 / 3 University of Washington: institution h-index 3,540 (OpenAlex)
Multi-centre collaboration 2 / 3 OpenAlex lists 4 institution(s) in 1 country
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 15851850)
Free to read 0 / 2 Behind a paywall — scores zero
Total 46 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

May need a subscription OpenAlex found no free copy of the full text (checked 6 Feb 1020), so the publisher may charge for it. The PubMed abstract is free.

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

APA 7th

Zhang, J., Goodlett, D. R., Quinn, J. F., Peskind, E., Kaye, J. A., Zhou, Y., et al. (2005). Quantitative proteomics of cerebrospinal fluid from patients with Alzheimer disease. Journal of Alzheimer's disease : JAD. https://doi.org/10.3233/jad-2005-7205

Vancouver

Zhang J, Goodlett DR, Quinn JF, Peskind E, Kaye JA, Zhou Y, et al. Quantitative proteomics of cerebrospinal fluid from patients with Alzheimer disease. Journal of Alzheimer's disease : JAD. 2005. doi:10.3233/jad-2005-7205. PMID: 15851850.

BibTeX

@article{zhang2005-15851850,
  author  = {Zhang, J. and Goodlett, D. R. and Quinn, J. F. and Peskind, E. and Kaye, J. A. and Zhou, Y. and Pan, C. and Yi, E. and others},
  title   = {{Quantitative proteomics of cerebrospinal fluid from patients with Alzheimer disease}},
  journal = {Journal of Alzheimer's disease : JAD},
  year    = {2005},
  doi     = {10.3233/jad-2005-7205},
  pmid    = {15851850},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.3233/jad-2005-7205}
}

Studies this one cites

Referenced by this study and also in the alzhub library, so you can read them here.

Later studies that cite this one

7 studies in the alzhub library list this one in their references.

Related studies in Risk genes beyond APOE

Also tagged “biomarkers”

821 studies in the library carry the topic tag “biomarkers”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 821 tagged studies.

Similar studies

More on Risk genes beyond APOE

See all studies in Risk genes beyond APOE →