Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 49 out of 100. Brain tissue and pathology

Topic: Brain proteins, microglia and lab models

Objective FUS gene mutations were recently identified in familial amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS). The present studies sought to define the clinical, post-mortem and neurophysiological phenotypes in ALS families with FUS mutations and to determine the frequency of FUS mutations in familial and sporadic ALS. Methods FUS was screened for mutations in familial and sporadic ALS cases.

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

APA 7th

Blair, I. P., Williams, K. L., Warraich, S. T., Durnall, J. C., Thoeng, A. D., Manavis, J., et al. (2010). FUS mutations in amyotrophic lateral sclerosis: clinical, pathological, neurophysiological and genetic analysis. Journal of neurology, neurosurgery, and psychiatry. https://doi.org/10.1136/jnnp.2009.194399

Vancouver

Blair IP, Williams KL, Warraich ST, Durnall JC, Thoeng AD, Manavis J, et al. FUS mutations in amyotrophic lateral sclerosis: clinical, pathological, neurophysiological and genetic analysis. Journal of neurology, neurosurgery, and psychiatry. 2010. doi:10.1136/jnnp.2009.194399. PMID: 19965854.

BibTeX

@article{blair2010-19965854,
  author  = {Blair, I. P. and Williams, K. L. and Warraich, S. T. and Durnall, J. C. and Thoeng, A. D. and Manavis, J. and Blumbergs, P. C. and Vucic, S. and others},
  title   = {{FUS mutations in amyotrophic lateral sclerosis: clinical, pathological, neurophysiological and genetic analysis}},
  journal = {Journal of neurology, neurosurgery, and psychiatry},
  year    = {2010},
  doi     = {10.1136/jnnp.2009.194399},
  pmid    = {19965854},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.1136/jnnp.2009.194399}
}

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

Key findings

Why it matters

FUS mutations were found in 3.2% of familial ALS cases in this genetic screening, making them a relatively uncommon cause. This concerns ALS genetics and does not address treating, curing or preventing Alzheimer's disease.

Study details

How this study scored 49/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 7 of 10; Journal's citation record 3 of 4; Study design 0 of 12; Strength of evidence 1 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 1 of 5; Sample size 0 of 4; Effect reported 2 of 3; Studied in people 0 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited 5 of 7; Citations per year 3 of 5; Impact for its field and year 4 of 6; Cited by studies here 3 of 6; Still being cited 2 of 4; Senior author's track record 3 of 4; Institution's track record 1 of 3; Multi-centre collaboration 2 of 3; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read 0 of 2. Total 49 of 100.49 of 100 points earned51 not earned

Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design, sample size, studied in people and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 7 / 10 Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Journal of neurology, neurosurgery, and psychiatry)
Journal's citation record 3 / 4 Journal of Neurology Neurosurgery & Psychiatry: journal h-index 336 (OpenAlex, 2026-10-29)
Study design 0 / 12 No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Strength of evidence 1 / 5 Rated “low” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 1 / 5 2010 — within 20 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 0 / 4 Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Effect reported 2 / 3 Effect reported as a number, without an interval or test
Studied in people 0 / 3 Not stated whether this was studied in people — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited 5 / 7 Cited 255 times (OpenAlex, 2026-10-10)
Citations per year 3 / 5 14.2 citations a year over 18 year(s) since 2010
Impact for its field and year 4 / 6 Cited 13.5× the average for papers of its field and year (OpenAlex FWCI)
Cited by studies here 3 / 6 Cited by 11 other studies in this library
Still being cited 2 / 4 Cited 26 times in 2024–2026 (2026 still in progress; OpenAlex)
Senior author's track record 3 / 4 Last-listed author Garth A. Nicholson: h-index 78 (OpenAlex, whole career)
Institution's track record 1 / 3 The University of Sydney: institution h-index 1,466 (OpenAlex)
Multi-centre collaboration 2 / 3 OpenAlex lists 8 institution(s) in 1 country
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 19965854)
Free to read 0 / 2 Behind a paywall — scores zero
Total 49 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

May need a subscription OpenAlex found no free copy of the full text (checked 6 Feb 1020), so the publisher may charge for it. The PubMed abstract is free.

Studies this one cites

Referenced by this study and also in the alzhub library, so you can read them here.

Later studies that cite this one

11 studies in the alzhub library list this one in their references. Showing the 8 highest-scoring.

Related studies in Brain tissue and pathology

Also tagged “bodies”

1,017 studies in the library carry the topic tag “bodies”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 1,017 tagged studies.

Similar studies

More on Brain tissue and pathology

See all studies in Brain tissue and pathology →