Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 47 out of 100. Risk genes beyond APOE

Topic: Amyloid, tau and blood-test diagnosis

There is increasing evidence that the consumption of flavonoid-rich foods can beneficially influence normal cognitive function. In addition, a growing number of flavonoids have been shown to inhibit the development of Alzheimer disease (AD)-like pathology and to reverse deficits in cognition in rodent models, suggestive of potential therapeutic utility in dementia. The actions of flavonoid-rich foods (e.g., green tea, blueberry, and cocoa) seem to be mediated by the direct interactions of absorbed flavonoids and their metabolites with a number of cellular and molecular targets.

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

APA 7th

Williams, R. J., & Spencer, J. P. (2012). Flavonoids, cognition, and dementia: actions, mechanisms, and potential therapeutic utility for Alzheimer disease. Free radical biology & medicine. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.freeradbiomed.2011.09.010

Vancouver

Williams RJ, Spencer JP. Flavonoids, cognition, and dementia: actions, mechanisms, and potential therapeutic utility for Alzheimer disease. Free radical biology & medicine. 2012. doi:10.1016/j.freeradbiomed.2011.09.010. PMID: 21982844.

BibTeX

@article{williams2012-21982844,
  author  = {Williams, R. J. and Spencer, J. P.},
  title   = {{Flavonoids, cognition, and dementia: actions, mechanisms, and potential therapeutic utility for Alzheimer disease}},
  journal = {Free radical biology \& medicine},
  year    = {2012},
  doi     = {10.1016/j.freeradbiomed.2011.09.010},
  pmid    = {21982844},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.1016/j.freeradbiomed.2011.09.010}
}

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

Key findings

Why it matters

Flavonoid-rich foods such as green tea, blueberry and cocoa have been shown to reduce Alzheimer-like pathology and reverse cognitive deficits in rodent models. These are animal findings only, so it is not yet known whether they help prevent or treat dementia in people.

Study details

How this study scored 47/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 7 of 10; Journal's citation record 3 of 4; Study design 0 of 12; Strength of evidence 1 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 1 of 5; Sample size 0 of 4; Effect reported 0 of 3; Studied in people 0 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited 6 of 7; Citations per year 4 of 5; Impact for its field and year 4 of 6; Cited by studies here 2 of 6; Still being cited 3 of 4; Senior author's track record 3 of 4; Institution's track record 0 of 3; Multi-centre collaboration 1 of 3; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read 0 of 2. Total 47 of 100.47 of 100 points earned53 not earned

Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design, sample size, effect reported, studied in people and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 7 / 10 Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Free radical biology & medicine)
Journal's citation record 3 / 4 Free Radical Biology and Medicine: journal h-index 378 (OpenAlex, 2026-10-29)
Study design 0 / 12 No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Strength of evidence 1 / 5 Rated “low” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 1 / 5 2012 — within 20 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 0 / 4 Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Effect reported 0 / 3 No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Studied in people 0 / 3 Not stated whether this was studied in people — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited 6 / 7 Cited 448 times (OpenAlex, 2026-10-10)
Citations per year 4 / 5 28.0 citations a year over 16 year(s) since 2012
Impact for its field and year 4 / 6 Cited 16.2× the average for papers of its field and year (OpenAlex FWCI)
Cited by studies here 2 / 6 Cited by 4 other studies in this library
Still being cited 3 / 4 Cited 55 times in 2024–2026 (2026 still in progress; OpenAlex)
Senior author's track record 3 / 4 Last-listed author Jeremy P. E. Spencer: h-index 58 (OpenAlex, whole career)
Institution's track record 0 / 3 University of Bath: institution h-index 651 (OpenAlex)
Multi-centre collaboration 1 / 3 OpenAlex lists 2 institution(s) in 1 country
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 21982844)
Free to read 0 / 2 Behind a paywall — scores zero
Total 47 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

May need a subscription OpenAlex found no free copy of the full text (checked 6 Feb 1020), so the publisher may charge for it. The PubMed abstract is free.

Studies this one cites

Referenced by this study and also in the alzhub library, so you can read them here.

Later studies that cite this one

4 studies in the alzhub library list this one in their references.

Related studies in Risk genes beyond APOE

Also tagged “double-blind”

783 studies in the library carry the topic tag “double-blind”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 783 tagged studies.

Similar studies

More on Risk genes beyond APOE

See all studies in Risk genes beyond APOE →