Home › Research › Prevention and risk
Brain vitamin D forms, cognitive decline, and neuropathology in community-dwelling older adults
M Kyla Shea, Kathryn Barger, Bess Dawson-Hughes, Sue E Leurgans, Xueyan Fu, Bryan D James, Thomas M Holland, Puja Agarwal et al.. Alzheimer's & dementia : the journal of the Alzheimer's Association, 2022-12-07
Topic: Brain imaging, connectivity and assessment
The main form of vitamin D in all brain regions measured was 25(OH)D3 . Higher brain 25(OH)D3 concentrations were associated with a 25% to 33% lower odds of dementia or mild cognitive impairment (MCI) at the last visit before death (all P ≤ .031). However, brain 25(OH)D concentrations were not associated with any post-mortem neuropathology outcome studied. Higher brain 25(OH)D3 concentrations were associated with better cognitive function prior to death. Additional research is needed to clarify the specific mechanisms underlying this potentially protective relationship.
Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris
APA 7th
Shea, M. K., Barger, K., Dawson-Hughes, B., Leurgans, S. E., Fu, X., James, B. D., et al. (2023). Brain vitamin D forms, cognitive decline, and neuropathology in community-dwelling older adults. Alzheimer's & dementia : the journal of the Alzheimer's Association. https://doi.org/10.1002/alz.12836
Vancouver
Shea MK, Barger K, Dawson-Hughes B, Leurgans SE, Fu X, James BD, et al. Brain vitamin D forms, cognitive decline, and neuropathology in community-dwelling older adults. Alzheimer's & dementia : the journal of the Alzheimer's Association. 2023. doi:10.1002/alz.12836. PMID: 36479814.
BibTeX
@article{shea2023-36479814,
author = {Shea, M Kyla and Barger, Kathryn and Dawson-Hughes, Bess and Leurgans, Sue E and Fu, Xueyan and James, Bryan D and Holland, Thomas M and Agarwal, Puja and others},
title = {{Brain vitamin D forms, cognitive decline, and neuropathology in community-dwelling older adults}},
journal = {Alzheimer's \& dementia : the journal of the Alzheimer's Association},
year = {2023},
doi = {10.1002/alz.12836},
pmid = {36479814},
url = {https://doi.org/10.1002/alz.12836}
}
Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.
Key findings
- The main form of vitamin D in all brain regions measured was 25(OH)D3 .
- Higher brain 25(OH)D3 concentrations were associated with a 25% to 33% lower odds of dementia or mild cognitive impairment (MCI) at the last visit before death (all P ≤ .031).
- However, brain 25(OH)D concentrations were not associated with any post-mortem neuropathology outcome studied.
- Higher brain 25(OH)D3 concentrations were associated with better cognitive function prior to death.
- Additional research is needed to clarify the specific mechanisms underlying this potentially protective relationship.
New to this subject? Start with our plain-English guide: Prevention →
Study details
- Participants290
- Evidence strengthLow
How this study scored 54/100
Published in a leading specialty journal. Scored zero for study design, effect reported and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record, multi-centre collaboration and free to read, so those were left out: it earned 30 of the 56 points we could judge it on, which is 54 out of 100.
| Component | Points | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Journal tier | 9 / 10 | Tier 2 — leading specialty journal (Alzheimer's & dementia : the journal of the Alzheimer's Association) |
| Journal's citation record | — / 4 | No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Study design | 0 / 12 | No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Strength of evidence | 1 / 5 | Rated “low” in our summary |
| Peer-review validation | 10 / 10 | Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal. |
| How recent | 3 / 5 | 2023 — within 6 year(s) of the newest study here |
| Sample size | 2 / 4 | 290 participants |
| Effect reported | 0 / 3 | No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Studied in people | 3 / 3 | Studied in people (participant count stated) |
| Randomised / blinded | 0 / 2 | No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Times cited | — / 7 | No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score |
| Citations per year | — / 5 | No citation count or no year — left out of this score |
| Impact for its field and year | — / 6 | No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score |
| Cited by studies here | — / 6 | Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score |
| Still being cited | — / 4 | No yearly citation counts — left out of this score |
| Senior author's track record | — / 4 | Senior author's record not available — left out of this score |
| Institution's track record | — / 3 | No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Multi-centre collaboration | — / 3 | Institutions not listed — left out of this score |
| Indexed in PubMed | 2 / 2 | Indexed in PubMed (PMID 36479814) |
| Free to read | — / 2 | Access not recorded — left out of this score |
| Points | 30 / 56 | Scored on 10 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 30 of the 56 points we could judge it on is 54 out of 100. |
| Total | 54 / 100 | — |
What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →
Read the original
Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.
Related studies in Prevention and risk
Also tagged “metabolic-syndrome”
304 studies in the library carry the topic tag “metabolic-syndrome”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 304 tagged studies.